Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I made this recipe for Easter dinner. It was easy to put together and it smelled fantastic while it roasted. I couldn't wait to try it. Let me tell you, it was the most TASTELESS poultry I have ever eaten. The garlic belonged in the cavaties at the very least. If I were to make this again I would have to treat each one like a mini turkey and put butter, herbs, and garlic under the skin. This was a VERY disappointing dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Excellent recipe. I did brine the hens first. And I forgot to add the wine. The birds took about two hours (not one) to cook, following the recipe here. But the flavor was excellent. I also used the gizzards to make a gravy, combining the gizzard liquid (gizzards, onion, carrot, broth cooked for 1-1/2 hours the night before, chopped the gizzards and added them to the cooked broth) with the pan drippings and a little flour. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Good and easy. BUT - I read the previous reviews and made some changes that others had recommended. I don't think the changes were good and wont do them again. :( We love garlic, but it was too much garlic, so next time I will not put minced garlic in the bird cavity, as others recommended. The sauce was WAY TOO GREASY, so I will not put the 2T olive oil with the wine and broth mixture AND I will not put any butter mixture under the skin, as recommended by another reviewer. Yes, it was good to add broth/wine to bottom of roaster to prevent the garlic from burning. I followed the cooking time suggested by a reviewer and it was perfect: cook at 450 for 30 minutes, then lower temp to 350 and cook additional 35 minutes. I will make again, but I will follow the recipe more closely and not add the extra garlic and butter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelli Thomas-Drake
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
LOVE this chic and simply presented recipe!!! I have gourmet fragrances throughout the house as a result this evening!!! I will definitely repeat this dinner whenever possible... LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! BIG YUM! Thanks! :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Thomas-Drake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Moist,tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was tasty, but nothing special. It did take more time to cook than the recipe suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
GEEEEEEZZZZZZZZZZZ, this was ridiculously good! Only things I did differently were add a little more season to the outside of the chicken before cooking it, quartered a small onion and put the pieces in the cavity of each chicken. The sauce is so flavorful but if you do prefer your sauces a little thicker, whisk in some flour when you're transferring the juices. I usually do this in a big measuring cup/glass before putting it into a saucepan. Makes it easier to mix it all together so you don't end up with little flour chunks floating around. Look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cjohnson812
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I made this for my family's Christmas dinner, and it was wonderful. A few days before, I brined the chicken and also stuffed a whole garlic clove along with the lemon and rosemary into the chicken. I also sprinkled lemon pepper onto the chicken and added chicken stock when I roasted them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I have a very picky child and she saw Cornish game hens at the grocery store and wanted "mini chickens" for dinner. I found this recipe and decided to try it out. I didn't have fresh rosemary so I used dried. I sprinkled it on the skin and in the cavity. I also put a few garlic cloves in the cavity with a lemon wedge. It was so good she asked to have them again at the end of the week. I did put broth in the pan like others so the garlic wouldn't burn. Great recipe, will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
OMG! This was an amazing recipe! My husband raved that this was the most amazing cornish hen he has eaten. It was extremely flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States