Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kelli Thomas-Drake
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
LOVE this chic and simply presented recipe!!! I have gourmet fragrances throughout the house as a result this evening!!! I will definitely repeat this dinner whenever possible... LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! BIG YUM! Thanks! :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Thomas-Drake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Moist,tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This was tasty, but nothing special. It did take more time to cook than the recipe suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
GEEEEEEZZZZZZZZZZZ, this was ridiculously good! Only things I did differently were add a little more season to the outside of the chicken before cooking it, quartered a small onion and put the pieces in the cavity of each chicken. The sauce is so flavorful but if you do prefer your sauces a little thicker, whisk in some flour when you're transferring the juices. I usually do this in a big measuring cup/glass before putting it into a saucepan. Makes it easier to mix it all together so you don't end up with little flour chunks floating around. Look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bayou Gator

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cjohnson812
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I made this for my family's Christmas dinner, and it was wonderful. A few days before, I brined the chicken and also stuffed a whole garlic clove along with the lemon and rosemary into the chicken. I also sprinkled lemon pepper onto the chicken and added chicken stock when I roasted them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I have a very picky child and she saw Cornish game hens at the grocery store and wanted "mini chickens" for dinner. I found this recipe and decided to try it out. I didn't have fresh rosemary so I used dried. I sprinkled it on the skin and in the cavity. I also put a few garlic cloves in the cavity with a lemon wedge. It was so good she asked to have them again at the end of the week. I did put broth in the pan like others so the garlic wouldn't burn. Great recipe, will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
OMG! This was an amazing recipe! My husband raved that this was the most amazing cornish hen he has eaten. It was extremely flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this cornish hen recipe, however it needed more time as they looked raw so I put them in the broiler for and xtra 15 minutes and they game out excellent and not dry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Amazing flavor, especially if you get a quality hen. Almost 5 star, but needed more sauce than the recipe calls for to get any "gravy" out of it. But it doesn't need it honestly. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Kinna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I loved making these cornish game hens from start to finish. This recipe was not only easy, but it required very few ingredients, all of which I happened to have. I prepared my roasting pan by spraying some olive oil spray, put the hens in for about 20 minutes, then added the garlic cloves which I cut in half. The lemon inside not only added an incredible flavor but it made my whole house smell sooo good!! Combined with the rosemary, the lemon was perfect for game hens. Total time they were left them in the oven was about an hour & 10 minutes. I basted the hens every now and then, and once they were brown on the outside, took them out and added a touch more rosemary. These were absolutely delicious, and I can't wait to make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States