Cornish Game Hens Ricardo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Just ok. Nothing i would make again. Didnt care for the flavor that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Moist and flavorful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Cornish Game Hen tastes great with just salt, pepper, and olive oil, in the oven as well. It comes out surprisingly moist and juicy. This version was very garlic and herb flavored, and maybe because of the strong flavor, we couldn't eat as much of it whereas we usually eat a whole bird each when it's cornish game hens. I love garlic though, so I didn't think it would be too much at all. This dish came out tender and moist, (used an oven) but missed something in flavor...it was almost so rich, yet still missing something flavorwise. I think we like the plain old salt and pepper version better after all that work and excitement of sticking herbs under the skin. Definitely has a distinct flavor to it and worth trying. Next time I'd be curious to stick other things under the skin...like maybe barbeque sauce or something more traditional like that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I made this for our Christmas dinner, and it was fantastic! It was as beautiful as it was delicious. I served it with small red potatoes with the center peeled. My husband and three teenage daughters loved it. We live at a high elevation and so I'm not able to thoroughly cook chicken on a grill. I baked the cornish hens for 3 hours at 350. This is a definite keeper. It was much less time consuming than the usual turkey dinner. Thanks Richard for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Moist and delicious. Full of the perfect balance of flavors. I baked mine in the oven, covered. I had to feed 5 people who all very picky in different ways. They all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I changed a few things on this. I marinated the hens overnight, and then rotissery grilled them (not cutting them in half) I basted the marinade on the hens while they were cooking. The flavor was incredible, and they came out moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Very tasty and flavorful. We didn't have a grill, so we made it in the oven (450 for 25 mins then 350 for 30-40 mins), and it was delicious that way, as well. Very tender and juicy. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
I made this for my husband and I for Christmas dinner. We loved it!! The flavoring was subtle and wonderful after being grilled. We did grill a little longer than called for, but it still turned out soft and juicy. We will definitely have this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States