Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I've used this recipe 5 or 6 times and have to say they're a success in my house. I use premade pie crusts, which are unauthentic as heck but convenient. I also changed the ratio of ground beef and pork to 1 pound each. I think it makes for a moister pastie. I omit the MSG and also add about a tablespoon of A-1 sauce. Admittedly, they're not as good as those made by the fine ladies at the Gwinn VFW, but they're pretty darned close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Every bit as good as the ones we bought in the UP. And the crust was better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
These tasted just like the pasties up from northern Michigan. I really appreciate you putting this recipe online, we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kgibson
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I modified this recipe a tad to what I grew up on in MN. The dough makes about 5 pasties and I had extra veggies. I made another batch of dough. I mixed in the meat with the veggies so it is more blended. I also added extra pepper, salt, splash of soy sauce, 2 cloves pressed garlic, and a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce to the veggie/meat mixture. Baked on 375 for 1 hour and 20 minutes with 5 minutes to cool down. It must be eaten with ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kgibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I omitted the MSG and I don't care for rutabagas so I used carrots and just ground beef. I put some pats of butter inside for extra flavor and moisture. For just the two of us, I used 1 lb ground beef, 1/2 onion, 1 or 2 carrots sliced, and 2 good sized potatoes sliced or diced small salt and pepper and place in a pie pan put several dots of butter on top and cover with a store bought pie crust. Baked at 375 for 45 minutes and served with extra butter and catsup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I ended up making 1 1/2 recipes of the pastry to match the amout of filling. All in total it equalled 18 pastries. We all found it a bit dry so next time we are adding 1/3 cup of A1 Steak Spice and a smooth beef gravy to go over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made these for a Finnish friend from Hurley, WI and they were deemed "just like home."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made recipe as is besides the addition of more rutabaga. They turned out perfect! I put an egg white wash and sprinkled some coarse salt on before baking, crust came out beautifully golden. My husband loves pasties and said these are the best he's had! I served with brown gravy and sour cream, perfect! Neighbor already asked for the recipe too!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
A lived in the UP when kid loved Pasties ,still do great recipe, Finlander in Wyo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Really good. Sadly I could not find the rutabaga so I had to leave it out. I also left out the MSG and added worcestershire sauce instead. I couldnt find ground pork either so I substitued it with a little bit of pork sausage. The spices in the sausage actually made it better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornish Pasty

See how to make a classic meat pie filled with skirt steak, onions, and potatoes.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States