Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I think next time I make it I will add more spices and use a pie crust but the filling was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb's Bread
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These came out really good. I adjusted the recipe for 4 servings and made the pasties a little smaller. There was still a lot of filling leftover, so I would double the crust recipe next time and use the same amount of filling. I left out the 2T of extra water in the 4 serving recipe for the dough and it was plenty sticky. I also froze the shortening for a while and kept the dough in the fridge while I made the filling. The crust is really flaky. I maybe would add a little more onion and rutabaga next time as I could barely taste the rutabaga. Also maybe more carrot and a little more broth. Overall, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb's Bread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: North Garden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
These were wonderful! Full of flavor, reminding me of the pasties we had in U.P. MI last summer! I however "cheated" and used Pillsbury premade pie crusts. I also took the advise of previous reviews and generously brushed the crust with a white egg wash. They came out beautiful...picture perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Both hubby and I really liked these. We're from Michigan and always crave these since we moved away. Had no idea they are so easy to make. These are spot on. Somehow I ended up with way too many potatoes though so next time Ill reduce those and maybe add a bit more salt to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was the first time I tried making pasties. I shredded the rutabaga and omitted the MSG. I used seasoned salt instead of plain in the meat mixture. I may try using Worcestershire sauce the next time I make them. I also used the feature to change number of servings and it turned out perfect. I will make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thumpertoo
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made these for Christmas dinner (minus the MSG) at the request of my Roommate from Ironwood Michigan. He has now named me an official Yooper. Reminds him of his family's recipe. I'm quite fond of them myself. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thumpertoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We have never had a pasty before, so I can't compare to anything. The pastry was easy and I used my food processor to make it. I put the dough in the fridge while I prepped the rest. I didn't have rutebaga so used extra potato and skipped the MSG. start to finish was approx. 1 hour 45 minutes. I baked 4 and froze 5. The quantities were right on target! I used lean beef and regular pork. Not greasy or soggy and a nice flavor. I did add a couple dried herbs and generous salt to the meat. Definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
So I am Cornish and a Michigander, but planted in North Carolina. I was happy to find this recipe when looking for recipes for "rutabaga." (Of course, my Grandma and Grand Aunts never used anything that fancy during our annual making of the pasties. Just carrots, potatoes, beef, salt, pepper, butter, flour.) All in all, this was a huge crowd-pleaser for our whole family, including small kids. MUST serve with an option of catsup or gravy. (And instead of MSG, I used soy sauce for about 1/2 of the water.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I've used this recipe 5 or 6 times and have to say they're a success in my house. I use premade pie crusts, which are unauthentic as heck but convenient. I also changed the ratio of ground beef and pork to 1 pound each. I think it makes for a moister pastie. I omit the MSG and also add about a tablespoon of A-1 sauce. Admittedly, they're not as good as those made by the fine ladies at the Gwinn VFW, but they're pretty darned close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Every bit as good as the ones we bought in the UP. And the crust was better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States