Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
I'm from the U.P. of Michigan, so I grew up knowing what a "real" pasty should taste like, not the they call pasties here in Detroit. I left out the pork, rutabega, and MSG because I couldn't find any at the store, but it still turned out great! I was able to make 10 pasties. The crust was a little dry, but I may have cooked them too long for the size that I made. Next time I'll try brushing with milk as another person suggested. To freeze them, let cool after cooking and wrap in tinfoil. To reheat, place the frozen pasty in the oven at 350 degrees for about an hour (or you can microwave it if you let it thaw first).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I live in the U.P. and was looking for an approximate amount of vegetables. This recipe was the perfect balance! As far as everyone else saying they were dry, my grandmother used to put a pat of butter inside of it before closing it up, and it wasn't dry at all. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Great Pasties! The crust was easy to make, although I added salt to make it a bit more savory. I followed the recipe exactly and it made 12 generously sized pies. I baked half and froze half on a cookie sheet, transferring them to a freezer bag after they were frozen. I baked the frozen ones in a 425 degree oven for about 50 minutes, and they came out perfect. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASIAKAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are awesome!! My husband went to Michigan Tech in Houghton MI (UP), and he said "they are as good as Verna's" Verna was his fraternity's cook and would occasionally make pasties. Obviously the people posting reviews lower than a 5 and complaining that they are "bland" have never had a pasty and don't know how they are supposed to taste! These are not for dieters, and you will wreck them if you try to cut out the fat! Run an extra mile or 2 and make them the way you are supposed to! My husband and I agree that they need more than 1/2 c of rutabaga and fewer potatoes. I did not use the MSG, and they were still awesome. MSG is not needed. My husband says that Verna probably didn't even know what MSG was, and she knew how to cook pasties! You won't be disappointed with this recipe if you are looking for a true pasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I am not from MI; however, my husband is and he loves pasties so I thought it would be nice to have and old favorite. We both agreed that these where really good. I did make a few changes to include omitting the MSG and adding 1 tbsp of worcestershire instead. I also used 1 lb of beef (97% lean) and 1.25 lb. of pork. I didn't have the beef bouillon so I substituted with 1/4 cup of chicken broth and used 3 cups of potatoes and 3 cups of turnips diced (only because I didn't have rutabaga). The last change was putting only 1 cup of filling in each pastie. I ended up with 12 pasties half of which I froze. They were great not to dry and not greasy. Oh and for a golden color I coated the top of each pastie with egg white wash. Next time I will devide the dough into 12 equal portions, form balls, and roll out until about 1/4 in thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsamm7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
These are great! Another one born and raised in Michigan, and these taste like the real thing, including one I had while in England. The rutabaga is a must for the flavor, and I had no trouble with dryness. I spiced the filling up a bit and added a little worchestershire sauce, and I brushed the outsides with eggwash before baking. I'll be making more and freezing them soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I'm a yooper and these pasties are better than some in Marquette pasty shops--- the crust makes the whole thing! I do omit some of the things I don't like and sub extra potatoes/onion for them- it seems to work just fine! A batch of them takes me a good 3-4 hours, start to finish...I like the dough to be just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Excellent recipe. My British husband loved these. Added lamb to the mix, and omitted the msg (couldn't find). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
My mother was from Palmer, Michigan and I misplaced her recipe when I moved. This is almost identical to the pasties I grew up with. Adjust, the amount of veggies, and seasonings, great with ketchup. My grandchildren love this, they just pick it up and go. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
On a quest for the perfect pasty recipe, I found this one. I must say, better than grandma's! These were fabulous! I like to boil the ground beef and pork a bit to remove extra fat. Other than that, I followed to a T and these turned out flaky and delicious.As others have advised, these freeze beautifully. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States