Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
We loved these, it hit the spot for my hubby who is a meat and potato kind of guy. Plus my picky son loved it! It definitely reminded me of the pasties I used to eat as a kid visiting the U.P. I did not use MSG, gives us headaches too, but instead added Worcestershire sauce which gave it a great flavor. I used southern cube cut hash browns which worked out perfectly and saved lots of time. Instead of rutabaga, since I had a hard time finding it, I used parsnips which added a very mild sweetness and great flavor. Also I decided not to put the ground pork in and just used 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef and added extra veggies to make up for it and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
We thought these were good for something different. The dough turned out good and that's always a good thing and instead of slicing the potatoes, I cubed them as I did with all the veggies about the same size so they would all cook at the same time. Did not have or use the MSG. I was leary about not browning the meat first but had faith and it worked out fine. I did have too much filling for the dough ratio so I made a few small pasties then made one big one in a baking pan by putting down a layer of dough on the bottom, filling with the filling and topping with dough. I brushed all with cream. While I was not expecting them to be super savory as the reviews kept saying they were pretty good. My husband enjoyed his very much and took some to work the next day. When I heated some up for lunch the next day, I wasn't impressed, I thought they lacked a lot on day two. A nice different touch though for a change up in the weeknight menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Good basic recipe, though the filling could use a bit more spice. Will try another reviewer's idea of adding Worcestershire sauce. Vegetables came out well done, not too soft and not too crunchy. I like to mix creamy horseradish with ketchup and eat it with the pasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Cube veges, use more rutabega
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are awesome!! My husband went to Michigan Tech in Houghton MI (UP), and he said "they are as good as Verna's" Verna was his fraternity's cook and would occasionally make pasties. Obviously the people posting reviews lower than a 5 and complaining that they are "bland" have never had a pasty and don't know how they are supposed to taste! These are not for dieters, and you will wreck them if you try to cut out the fat! Run an extra mile or 2 and make them the way you are supposed to! My husband and I agree that they need more than 1/2 c of rutabaga and fewer potatoes. I did not use the MSG, and they were still awesome. MSG is not needed. My husband says that Verna probably didn't even know what MSG was, and she knew how to cook pasties! You won't be disappointed with this recipe if you are looking for a true pasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
After seeing the rating and reading previous reviews, I was expecting something better tasting. We found them to be pretty bland and dry.Admittedly, I didn't use the MSG as it is a migraine trigger for several of us, but still I expected more from this recipe. This recipe is a good starting point, but I feel it would be greatly improved by seasoning the filling mixture and maybe adding something to make it not so dry. I will try it again, but with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claymont, Delaware, USA
Living In: White Sulphur Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
HI TO ALL THE YOOPERS POSTING REVIEWS! :) I, too, grew up in the U.P. eating Pasties (YUM!). I've had a recipe almost exactly like this one for years. With mine, I omit the MSG. Boy! I love Pasties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
These are very tasty. Instead of MSG I used a couple shakes of Worcestershire sauce; plenty of savory flavor! Never made them before and had filling and a little dough left so I made a pastie pie in an 8" dish (just the top crust). Perfect for the chilly weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Awesome! I'd forgotten how much I love rutebega. Dad's happy that he doesn't have to overnight them to me anymore from Iron Mountain. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roswell_chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I am a Yooper and was pleased with this recipe for pasties. I left out the MSG and probably should have added more salt, they were a bit bland. I used the leanest pork and beef I could find. I had a lot of crust left as well, probably would make the crust thicker next time, or the pasties larger. We eat them with ketchup.I made the dough in my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States