Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I used only ground lean beef (no pork), frozen hashbrowns (that we thawed prior to using) and frozen onions and carrots that I had in the freezer (already chopped/grated), added some worcestershire and didn't use any msg and they came out very good and very close to the Lawry's that we get up in Marquette when we go to the U.P. Had to make more of the pastry though as I ran out before all the filler had been used up. The extras that we didn't eat went into the freezer for a quick meal in the future. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My husband is from Michigan and has been trying to find a real Michigan pasties recipe since we married! Finally, after 6 years, and moving to Germany, I found him the perfect recipe! Just like home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by German Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Excellent recipe. My whole family(even kids) enjoyed this. I did add about a tablespoon of cumin, 2 T worstershire, 2 t of garlic powder and it came out not at all dry or tasteless. My husband is from MI and he loved it. Make sure to chill the shortening prior as well and the pastry will be so flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I'm also from the UP and have made a similiar recipe to this one for almost 30 years now. I use cut up round steak and they are never dry because I always make a mushroom sauce to pour over the pasties. I agree with using less potatoes and more rutabagas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalama, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was really tasty! I made mine smaller and used leftover roast beef. I brushed them with milk and didn't have any problems with them drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I am not from MI; however, my husband is and he loves pasties so I thought it would be nice to have and old favorite. We both agreed that these where really good. I did make a few changes to include omitting the MSG and adding 1 tbsp of worcestershire instead. I also used 1 lb of beef (97% lean) and 1.25 lb. of pork. I didn't have the beef bouillon so I substituted with 1/4 cup of chicken broth and used 3 cups of potatoes and 3 cups of turnips diced (only because I didn't have rutabaga). The last change was putting only 1 cup of filling in each pastie. I ended up with 12 pasties half of which I froze. They were great not to dry and not greasy. Oh and for a golden color I coated the top of each pastie with egg white wash. Next time I will devide the dough into 12 equal portions, form balls, and roll out until about 1/4 in thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsamm7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
These were awesome! They had a wonderful flavor and I did not find mine dry;however, I used 85/15 ground chuck and no pork. I also used white pepper instead of black and threw in the worsterchire sauce as someone else advised.The only thing I would recommend is to double the amount of dough for the crust. I ran short for the amount of filling I had. Otherwise I am very happy with how they turned out! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
We're from the lower peninsula of Michigan and we always look forward to our trips to the UP where we always have pasties. On our last trip, due to certain circumstances, we did not get any pasties. Therefore, we set out to make our own UP pasties. This recipe was perfect. I doubled up on the rutabaga and added a little Worcestershire sauce. There is a lot of cutting an dicing to do, but it is worth the effort. These really are as good as we have had in the UP - - if not better. Now we will be having pasties on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
We loved these, it hit the spot for my hubby who is a meat and potato kind of guy. Plus my picky son loved it! It definitely reminded me of the pasties I used to eat as a kid visiting the U.P. I did not use MSG, gives us headaches too, but instead added Worcestershire sauce which gave it a great flavor. I used southern cube cut hash browns which worked out perfectly and saved lots of time. Instead of rutabaga, since I had a hard time finding it, I used parsnips which added a very mild sweetness and great flavor. Also I decided not to put the ground pork in and just used 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef and added extra veggies to make up for it and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
We thought these were good for something different. The dough turned out good and that's always a good thing and instead of slicing the potatoes, I cubed them as I did with all the veggies about the same size so they would all cook at the same time. Did not have or use the MSG. I was leary about not browning the meat first but had faith and it worked out fine. I did have too much filling for the dough ratio so I made a few small pasties then made one big one in a baking pan by putting down a layer of dough on the bottom, filling with the filling and topping with dough. I brushed all with cream. While I was not expecting them to be super savory as the reviews kept saying they were pretty good. My husband enjoyed his very much and took some to work the next day. When I heated some up for lunch the next day, I wasn't impressed, I thought they lacked a lot on day two. A nice different touch though for a change up in the weeknight menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States