Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Our first time trying these and they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Awesome and I am a Michigander who always gets pasties when in the UP. I did leave out the MSG, just didn't see a need for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoryAmara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Liked this - reminded me of Aarne's Bakery in Detroit in the 1940's I tried various potatoes; I liked redskins the best but found them a bit hard after cooking. Ended up with 3 cups coarse-dice Idaho russets, 2 cups medium parboiled redskins, and 1 cup sweet purple-top turnips (and no swedes). Try using a big Vidalia or Maui onion. Mmmm! And absolutely no @#$% MSG! Finally, I add a small piece of beef liver (frozen then chopped) with the meats. Hyvää ruokahalua!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
SO delicious! I had some left over refrigerated pie crust that I used and I also had some extra puff pastry in my freezer. It was excellent with both. I had extra that I froze too and that was an easy, delicious meal I could pull out of the freezer - VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great recipe, and easy to make healthier, too! I did not use MSG, but used 1/2 a natural Not-Beef bouillon cube in the 1/2 cup hot water. I also used 2 lb of local grass-fed beef and added about 3 cloves crushed garlic. I didn't have rutabaga- so skipped that. I was able to make 12 pasties, with about 2c left over filling that we just sauteed in a skillet for leftovers. I have a large family, and these were all eaten up in one meal, no complaints from the children! Try this one- you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is the first time I've ever tried my hand at making these. I thought I would be clever and chop all my veggies in my processor to save time. I don't recommend doing that as the veggie flavors got lost in the ground beef and the texture was too dense. I think this was my fault and not the recipe's. My husband loved these. I was particularly pleased with the pastry. They kept well in the fridge and reheated nicely in the microwave. I liked dipping them in ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HANNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Recently I was reminiscing about amazing Cornish pasties I used to buy from the deli at the local college I attended right out of high school... remembering how amazing they were, so I looked up a recipe here. Saw several variations, decided to try this one. I left out the MSG and replaced it with a few shakes of various spices from the cupboard (can't even remember exactly what), and used turnip instead of rutabaga (that's the store had). Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. My first taste was a nervous one, not knowing if I'd be satisfied... but wow, was I satisfied. Delicious! After one bite I recalled that I liked a lot of pepper on the pasties I ate in college, so I grabbed the pepper mill and applied a healthy dose. Fantastic!! Very similar to what I remember enjoying as a student. I highly recommend this recipe, delicious! Great meal on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Fennell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
i found this recipie very time consuming to put together, but the flavor was pretty darn close to the ones my parents bought when i was a kid.also, i used a buttermilk pie crust recipie that was posted by honeybeez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agriff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My mum was born in Cornwall England and I have many happy memories of her making us Cornish pasies when we were young. She always used short crust pastry The correct meat to use is actually shin beef cut very small , a cooking onion chopped up , carrots , turnip and potatoes chopped finely Cover the whole thing with salt and pepper , no stock at all. Fill the pastry full , pull together to make the " spine " and make slits in the top Brush with milk We used to sit on the porch with our hot pasties wrapped in greaseproof paper , a great childhood memory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I made these over the weekend, omitting the MSG and carrots (I've never seen a pasty with carrots in it, plus I'm not a carrot fan). To me, these don't taste like Upper Peninsula pasties, but they're tasty and satisfy that pasty craving. Two reasons I especially liked this recipe are 1. these aren't greasy like so many UP pasties I've had, and 2. the pastry was nice and crispy (I truly dislike a soggy crust that falls apart). Next time, I'll use all beef and no pork to see if I get the taste I'm expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States