Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
These tasted just like the pasties up from northern Michigan. I really appreciate you putting this recipe online, we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kgibson
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I modified this recipe a tad to what I grew up on in MN. The dough makes about 5 pasties and I had extra veggies. I made another batch of dough. I mixed in the meat with the veggies so it is more blended. I also added extra pepper, salt, splash of soy sauce, 2 cloves pressed garlic, and a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce to the veggie/meat mixture. Baked on 375 for 1 hour and 20 minutes with 5 minutes to cool down. It must be eaten with ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kgibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I omitted the MSG and I don't care for rutabagas so I used carrots and just ground beef. I put some pats of butter inside for extra flavor and moisture. For just the two of us, I used 1 lb ground beef, 1/2 onion, 1 or 2 carrots sliced, and 2 good sized potatoes sliced or diced small salt and pepper and place in a pie pan put several dots of butter on top and cover with a store bought pie crust. Baked at 375 for 45 minutes and served with extra butter and catsup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I ended up making 1 1/2 recipes of the pastry to match the amout of filling. All in total it equalled 18 pastries. We all found it a bit dry so next time we are adding 1/3 cup of A1 Steak Spice and a smooth beef gravy to go over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Made these for a Finnish friend from Hurley, WI and they were deemed "just like home."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Made recipe as is besides the addition of more rutabaga. They turned out perfect! I put an egg white wash and sprinkled some coarse salt on before baking, crust came out beautifully golden. My husband loves pasties and said these are the best he's had! I served with brown gravy and sour cream, perfect! Neighbor already asked for the recipe too!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
A lived in the UP when kid loved Pasties ,still do great recipe, Finlander in Wyo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Really good. Sadly I could not find the rutabaga so I had to leave it out. I also left out the MSG and added worcestershire sauce instead. I couldnt find ground pork either so I substitued it with a little bit of pork sausage. The spices in the sausage actually made it better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Guess it depends upon where you are from, but if you are from Butte, Montana these pasties are simply not up to par...sliced potatoes? pork? MSG? beef bouillon? rutabaga?..ugh...might as well make a stew....No one in Butte would consider these "cornish" pasties...sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I just made these and served them with brown gravy! They are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States