Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I'm a yooper and these pasties are better than some in Marquette pasty shops--- the crust makes the whole thing! I do omit some of the things I don't like and sub extra potatoes/onion for them- it seems to work just fine! A batch of them takes me a good 3-4 hours, start to finish...I like the dough to be just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
these were ok.....the pasty did not seem to hold together. I had lots of leftover filling...so I just fried it up and served it inside a flour tortilla...that was much better. But it was fun makeing the pasty once...we even put my kids initials on them the way the miners wives used too...don't forget to put a little bit of jam or apple butter in one end with a little pasty partition...makes for a nice dessert surprise at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
My husband and I both went to college in the Upper Peninsula, and took a great liking to Pasties. We've tried to find something similar since we are now all the way out on the West Coast, and have even tried making another recipe in the past...Nothing compared until now! These pasties are wonderful :) The only thing my husband and I did with the recipe was to reduce the amount of onion :) We made them for our neighbors, and they haven't stopped talking about them - lol! :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Great pasty recipe! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
These are great! Another one born and raised in Michigan, and these taste like the real thing, including one I had while in England. The rutabaga is a must for the flavor, and I had no trouble with dryness. I spiced the filling up a bit and added a little worchestershire sauce, and I brushed the outsides with eggwash before baking. I'll be making more and freezing them soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I'm another Michigander that loves this recipe. I usually sub parsnips for the rutabagas because I like them better and use stock instead of the bouillon and water. I have trouble getting a full 1 1/2 cups in each pasty and so I usually have filling left over, which I bake in a dish and eat plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I grew up in Michigan and haven't found anything that compared to a pasty... until now! What a great recipe, perfect for a chilly fall evening. I didn't have any beef bouillon on hand so I reduced a can of chicken broth to 1/2 a cup and used that instead. I also skipped the MSG. I served a green salad on the side and called it dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I live in the U.P. and was looking for an approximate amount of vegetables. This recipe was the perfect balance! As far as everyone else saying they were dry, my grandmother used to put a pat of butter inside of it before closing it up, and it wasn't dry at all. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I made these exactly according to the recipe and they were very tasty, the pastry was nice and flaky. I did not find it dry (did those of you who did leave out any vegetables? They do add moisture). The only change I would make would be to dice instead of slice the potatoes so that they would be more evenly distributed--I ended up with areas that were all potatoes and no meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
It was dry as everyone else has related. I even made some gravy. Way way way wayyyyy too much filling for the pastry. My non-Finnish mother makes them much better, even shaming my full-blooded Finnish aunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Pasty

See how to make a classic meat pie filled with skirt steak, onions, and potatoes.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States