Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Great pasty recipe! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
These are great! Another one born and raised in Michigan, and these taste like the real thing, including one I had while in England. The rutabaga is a must for the flavor, and I had no trouble with dryness. I spiced the filling up a bit and added a little worchestershire sauce, and I brushed the outsides with eggwash before baking. I'll be making more and freezing them soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
I'm another Michigander that loves this recipe. I usually sub parsnips for the rutabagas because I like them better and use stock instead of the bouillon and water. I have trouble getting a full 1 1/2 cups in each pasty and so I usually have filling left over, which I bake in a dish and eat plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I grew up in Michigan and haven't found anything that compared to a pasty... until now! What a great recipe, perfect for a chilly fall evening. I didn't have any beef bouillon on hand so I reduced a can of chicken broth to 1/2 a cup and used that instead. I also skipped the MSG. I served a green salad on the side and called it dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I live in the U.P. and was looking for an approximate amount of vegetables. This recipe was the perfect balance! As far as everyone else saying they were dry, my grandmother used to put a pat of butter inside of it before closing it up, and it wasn't dry at all. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
I made these exactly according to the recipe and they were very tasty, the pastry was nice and flaky. I did not find it dry (did those of you who did leave out any vegetables? They do add moisture). The only change I would make would be to dice instead of slice the potatoes so that they would be more evenly distributed--I ended up with areas that were all potatoes and no meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
It was dry as everyone else has related. I even made some gravy. Way way way wayyyyy too much filling for the pastry. My non-Finnish mother makes them much better, even shaming my full-blooded Finnish aunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I grew up in Northern Wisconsin and knew people who would drive to the UP just to get the real pasties. They were always a hit with my family, but I couldn't find the recipe to let my husband try. These were great. I didn't put MSG in it and I was out of rutabagas, but everything still turned out great. Give yourself some time for this one, it is labor intensive. The results are worth it though. It made a good size batch which I froze when we had eaten our fill. Hubby is still taking them with him for his lunches. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Good, makes a lot!! A Lot of work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
Good recipe. But being from Michigan I use chopped beef stew and Pork instead of ground and I leave out the MSG and Bullion for a Recipie Like my grandmother showed me... Healtier too, not as much sodium... Don't forget to serve with Dill Pickle and ketchup. The copper miners of the calumet area would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States