Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
good but way too many potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Excellent! As a native Michigander and lover of pasties I'm telling you this is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Tryban Gilchrist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
On a quest for the perfect pasty recipe, I found this one. I must say, better than grandma's! These were fabulous! I like to boil the ground beef and pork a bit to remove extra fat. Other than that, I followed to a T and these turned out flaky and delicious.As others have advised, these freeze beautifully. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I converted this recipe to a vegetarian one. I omitted the meat, reduced 1 cup of veg. broth to 1/2 cup (by the way I really like the wofgang puck because it has no tomato anything nor msg). I followed the ingredient list for the vegetables. Yes, I was left with way too much filling but I'll just save it and make a smaller batch of dough in a few days. Yes it lacked a little flavor and I guess that the beef broth and ground gave it that special flavor. However as bland as it was it was still very enjoyable to eat. Next time I'll add some herbs and maybe something that makes it creamier. Whatever; if you go vegetarian it'll need a little flavoring but it was very good with the ketchup dunking. It will definitely become a home classic that will probably have several permutations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great recipe. Grew up in Northern MN and moved further south and never found a good recipe til now. Pasties have a certain flavor and this is the exact same taste from when I was young. We eat ours with cream of mushroom soup over the top. Being dry is a part of their trademark. Crust was very easy to work with and just needed to make a little extra dough for the leftover filling. Fabulous recipe. Freezer friendly too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Great recipe, I especially liked the pastry crust. I left out the MSG because I have asthma in the family, but it still tasted absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blanding, Utah, USA
Living In: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
My mother was from Palmer, Michigan and I misplaced her recipe when I moved. This is almost identical to the pasties I grew up with. Adjust, the amount of veggies, and seasonings, great with ketchup. My grandchildren love this, they just pick it up and go. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
Used very lean beef and pork, but turned out way greasy, making the bottoms soggy. Filling had no real flavor. Proportion of dough to filling is also incorrect as others had pointed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Not a native yooper but have lived here for the last 5 years. This recipe is pretty identical to what I've tasted around here. In fact, it tastes better than what you get some of the resturants around here. Gravy or ketchup would help if it's too dry. Yes, there's definitely more filling that dough. And it does takes a whole morning to make. I didn't change a thing in the receipe. But a word of warning, this is not for the faint of heart... espcially if you're prone to heart attacks. A tad on the fatty side imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I'm a yooper and these pasties are better than some in Marquette pasty shops--- the crust makes the whole thing! I do omit some of the things I don't like and sub extra potatoes/onion for them- it seems to work just fine! A batch of them takes me a good 3-4 hours, start to finish...I like the dough to be just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States