Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this for the first time tonight. Thought I would try it because of all the great reviews and they were right. I did change one thing though, (well 2 things if you count adding the seasonings that others had recommended) I added yams instead of potatoes and I'm glad I did. Next time I think I'll not only add the chunks of yam but shred some into it also. It adds sweetness and moisture to the filling and yams are more nutritious than potatoes. I recommend if you are using yams that you cut bigger chunks, as yams cook faster than potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I used to eat pasties every year when we would ski in the UP of Michigan. I thought I would try to make them myself and this recipe was amazing. It came out great! I used less potatoes, more rutabaga and pork...it turned out well. Anyone that wants the real deal Michigan pasty needs to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
These are great! My whole family went on and on about how great they were and I have three kids from age 2 to 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
These are delicious! I would have given them five stars but I did make a few changes. I add worcertshire sauce per other reviewer's suggestions and the taste was great. I think it would have been a tad bland without it. I also used only beef (couldn't find ground pork at our supermarket). I ended up using 80% lean ground beef to make sure it stayed moist since a number of reviewers said it was dry. I also left out the carrots simply because I forgot to buy them. We made a double batch of the filling. We ended up making three batches of the dough and still had filling left over. My husband loved them. He says that they taste just like the pasties he used to eat when visiting his aunt in the UP. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
These were great and reminded me of my home in Michigan's Upper Peninsula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanna Tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Did not like it at all. Will not be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mill Creek, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This recipe is both easy and delicious. I will be using this every time I make pasties. Good pasty recipes are hard to find. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Lots of dicing and chopping, seemed to take me forever but well worth it. Next time I think I will add cheese to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These are just like Grandma Stimaki's! I made these for the guys at the fire house and they loved them. I used the calculator to double the recipe and it worked great. The only bad thing about this recipe is that now I have to make them for the guys every other Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
So good the wife is worried about her turn to cook. Can't wait to play with the recipe. Just like deer hunting in the yoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States