Cornish Finnish Michigan Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These are a must at my house. Can definitely do without the MSG. I bought rutabagas for the first time just for this recipe and have since started using them in other things. This recipe is correct: no need to cook the meat prior to stuffing. I add a tsp of thyme for flavor and my family loves it. I use my food processor to shred and slice the veggies. I actually make a quadruple recipe at a time for my family of 9 and freeze the cooked pasties once they've cooled. Wrap in foil for freezing. Pop the frozen, wrapped pasties in a 350 oven for 30 min; unwrap, place on cookie sheet and continue cooking for another 30 min. These are the best! Also great for letting children help roll out the dough because it is a sturdier dough than regular pie pastry. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Better than I expected. I used more rutabaga and less potato (and only sweet potatoes), left out the carrots and pork, added 1-2T Worcestshire sauce, coated them in egg whites, and they were still good. Which made me think you could put almost anything in this crust and it would be a fun/easy hand-held meal. I'll definitely make again with whatever I have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I've never even heard of such a thing, but upon looking for recipes with rutabaga I found this recipe....so glad I did. They were awesome!!!!! Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I think these are a 5 star, but my family thought they were to bland. I grew up eating pasties, and these brought back fond memories for me. Tasted just like the ones my mom made for us. I did sub a few things, used packaged refrigerated diced potatoes (country hash browns, the type with only potatoes nothing else) to help cut back on prep time. Omitted the rutabaga (didn't think my family would like it), used pre-made refrigerated pie crust (to cut prep time), cut back on black pepper, mixed granulated bouillon into about 1/4 - 1/3 cup of hot water before adding to filling to help kept it from being too dry, and added a small pat of butter on top of filling before folding and sealing pie crust. Filling was perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
SKIP THE MSG!!! You don't need it! This recipe is excellent without the MSG and bouillon (which usually contains MSG as well). I would have rated this 5 stars if it hadn't called for MSG. I cook from scratch to AVOID feeding my family chemicals. Anyway, I otherwise followed the recipe and even my picky teenagers loved them. They're a little time consuming, but well worth it. This makes a huge batch, and my husband is very happy to take the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. I will definately make them again. They brought back memories of our trips to England. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I have been brought up on Cornish pasties, and why I think these are not the same, they are not a million miles away. I did think the inside was a little dry, and next time I may add a few peas. I will make this recipe again but I think I will have a play around with it and see if it can be improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I thought this was the most complete recipe. I have lived in Michigan my whole live and don't ever recall a Pasty having sliced potatoes and shredded carrots so I didn't think mine should either. I doubled the amount of rutabaga, used 5 carrots diced instead of the 2 shredded, and about 5-1/2 cups of diced potatoes. My slapchop made that part easy. I put them on the pan as instructed. Evidently I didn't have every one sealed completely, because the juices came out, burned on the pan, and set off the smoke detectors. I pulled the two trays out at 30 minutes, then I wrapped each one in aluminum foil, placed them on a new tray and cooked at 350 for the last 12 minutes. YUM! They weren't dry at all. Basing this meal on a family of 3, they sure were filling. I ended up with 9 pasties so I will have 6 to freeze. I would recommend this recipe, but make sure the pasties are SEALED completely. The grease will burn to the pan and smoke out your house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Amazingly yummy and easy to make. I'm gonna make another batch tomorrow to keep in the freezer! I did omit the MSG, went 50/50 on beef and pork, and used more rhutabaga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
My aunt made these once while I was visiting, and I had to make them for my family. They were awesome! Even my picky son ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this for the first time tonight. Thought I would try it because of all the great reviews and they were right. I did change one thing though, (well 2 things if you count adding the seasonings that others had recommended) I added yams instead of potatoes and I'm glad I did. Next time I think I'll not only add the chunks of yam but shred some into it also. It adds sweetness and moisture to the filling and yams are more nutritious than potatoes. I recommend if you are using yams that you cut bigger chunks, as yams cook faster than potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States