Cornell Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is a marinade that I consistently go back to. The ingredients are simple and the taste is great. I have found that the longer I marinate the chicken the better the flavor. I have used it with all cuts of chicken from a whole fryer to boneless/skinless chicken breasts and the family always loves it. If you want a little kick, add red pepper flakes or a spicier poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
My dad has been making my whole life and is famous in our little town for his chicken. Cook the chicken low and slow on a charcoal grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atutone

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Batavia, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was offered at the NYS fair in Syracuse when I lived in NY...delicious! I have used this recipe like three times a month, even in the winter. I usually grill it on a gas grill, but I think charcoal makes it even better. I remember the make-shift grills at the fair...cinder blocks built up with grills on top, done with charcoal, and the marinade swabbed on with a mop...best memories ever! The Doctor, in the urban-legends I have heard, was "tasked" with the challenge of creating a marinade that would "bind" on the chicken, thus the egg. The amount in this recipe is enough to grill three different batches of 6-8 chicken thighs, IMO. I use VERY little for marinating in the plastic bag, just enough to coat, and then use a more liberal amount for "swabbing" while on the grill. The marinade to flame/heat ratio (coat, then turn) will make this best on a gas grill... And the rest will keep in the fridge...that much vinegar, it's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
All I tasted was vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Cut the recipe for just two of us, but followed all the directions and it was juicy and delicious! My husband is still learning how to grill chicken and this is an easy intro to grilled chicken! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Good, different, very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was a very good grilled chicken, not the best I've ever had but decidedly good. I only marinated for a day (not overnight as I normally would) due to reviews of this technically being a basting sauce not a marinade. I think it could have marinated longer and been fine. I was cooking for kids so I did 1 1/2 cups cider vinegar and 1/2 cup apple juice. I indirectly grilled then put them over the flames to crisp them up at the end. I also used immersion basting several times (after I heated/thickened the marinade in a saucepan on the stove) which worked nicely, and kept the grill from getting too messy! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
1. I don't use a blender. Just mix in a gallon zip top bag. 2. I prefer white pepper to black pepper. 3. Ideally I'd marinate this for much longer (at least overnight), but I never remember ahead of time to put them in so it's good that it turns out so well with just a few hours. 4. Use whatever bone-in chicken pieces you have on hand. I prefer drumsticks. Even if you don't eat the skin I recommend keeping it on for grilling to help keep the chicken moist. So. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
The chicken was very moist. It just didn't have enough "punch" for me. I really wanted to like this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Wow- this was fantastic!! Made for fourth of July and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Cherry Bomb BBQ Chicken

See how to make BBQ chicken with explosively good flavor.

Grilled Chicken Spiedies

Discover America’s greatest unknown sandwich masterpiece!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States