Cornell Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
After reading other reviews, I too decreased the salt to one tblsp. I did add paprika and garlic powder, about 1/2 tsp each, but that's a personal preference. This is an amazing marinade that I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
chicken with this marinade is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever.always3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Been eating this since I was a kid...Dad worked at Cornell. It is great! Nice and moist. Now we can have it all the time and not just at Cornell picnics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
As others have said, this is the predominant marinade/basting sauce in NY for fire departments, churches, Elks, and anyone else who wants to make a killing with a chicken BBQ - the aroma sucks the people in and for the rest of their lives check every week to see who's having a BBQ! Dr Baker was dean of the school of agriculture at Cornell and developed this to increase sales of chicken. This marinade was not his only invention... he also created the infamous chicken nugget and (I believe) the chicken patty. The original Baker's sauce can always be found at the NY State Fair at "Baker's Chicken Coop" restaurant run by the Doc's family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
i love this recipe i cut the salt back to 1 T let the chicken marinate for about 4 hours and I have never grilled moree tender juicy chicken I will use this recipe over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My chicken is usually kind of "Meh".. But my whole family LOVED this. Insanely simple. I ALWAYS have all of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I made this yesterday,it came out perfectly golden brown: if it flaring up and burning, it is because you are incorrectly cooking over a too direct flame, this has to be either further away from the coals or in the middle of the gas grill with the middle burners turned off or placed in the middle of a Weber-style grill over a drip pan with the charcoal heaped over to both sides. Dr. Baker created the recipe to promote the use of broilers, lighter weight chicken that could be brought to market sooner than the full sized 5-7 pound roasters. Every ingredient and amount was scientifically chosen to make a marinade that would ultimately to sell more chicken. Bawk bawk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Dylan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homer, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Growing up in Western NY, my family has been making this delicious marinade for bbq chicken since before I was born. Now my wife and friends rave over this tangy treat! It's a delicious summertime tradition that I would encourage anyone to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I'm giving this only 4 stars because, although it was very good on the chicken, the little flavor from the scant amount of seasonings really didn't wow us. The vinegar shined in the chicken, but that was mostly it. Definately not something I would particularly write home about. Next time, I will play around with more seasonings. This is a great base for chicken, though and I think with a little love this recipe can be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. T. Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
this is the BEST chicken marinade/BBQ baste you will ever find. I grew up in the Finger Lakes area and this aroma is something to look forward to! Don't bother trying to make this into a red type sauce, you'll ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GALA62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States