Cornell Chicken Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My aunt worked for Cornell's home ec department in the 50's till she retired in the early 80's. We got a copy of this recipe, all the way in Minnesota, from her, and it was the only barbecue chicken we had, after that! I'd lost my copy, and wanted to make it for Labor Day dinner today. THANK YOU for posting this delicious barbecue recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
i can't help but to agree with most posts. Growing up "up there" it was a staple of summer. It bought fire trucks, sent children to college and helped with medical bills and a variety of other worthy causes. I too have tweaked it slightly. Having been on the crew who set it all up i know this about it: it is for the half chicken, 2 1/2 - 3 lb size, our orders for that were specific. Having cooked it with no less than 5 crews not a one marinaded it. We used the 20" from the fire as original and "mopped" the sauce every time it flipped using what i can only describe as a car washing mitt dipped in the sauce. Having my sauce memorized, i too have taken it with me everywhere. No one has ever said they didn't like it. not even TX or NC. I served it once at a soup kitchen and we served 120 lbs of quarters to 110 people. We were aiming to have some seconds but people just exchanged clothes to get another plate, and another. Try it using quarters, you'll be hooked too. Works on gas, charcoal and in the oven. Even tastes great on squirrel and rabbit. If you are of a mind to try it "wild" or other use the indirect heat method to mimic the distance in the original. I will post mine later; no salt, just good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JT Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My mom used to make this chicken for us all the time while I was growing up! LOVED it then, LOVE it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I'm always a little shy with salt, so I use 2/3 or 1/2 of what the recipe calls for, but the simplicity and great flavor of this marinade make it a perfect recipe, in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUCHUNK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
another Upstate NY fan here. 1 teaspoon salt is the right amount, if even that. The other amounts are perfect! My father made this every summer while I was growing up and wouldn't tell me what he put in it because he knew I hated the smell of vinegar. I never knew until after he passed away that this was the recipe he used and, well, vinegar smell be da**ed, this is the absolute BEST chicken BBQ recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Norwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Probably the best marinade I have ever made. I ommitted the salt as it is completely unnecessary not to mention unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Decent enough. Reminded me of a lot of Greek marinades.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I was raised in Cooperstown, NY and Brook's BBQ near Oneonta, NY has used this marinade since their beginning. It is THE BEST charcoal broiled chicken I have evr eaten in my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cooperstown, New York, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Okay but not very exciting. Sort of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I am from NW Connecticut on the NY state line, so I've had this chicken at fairs and picnics but could never get the recipe, until now. This is it! The famous vinegar based BBQ chicken! I made it for the first time for our mothers day cookout yesterday. It was a hit! I marinaded bone in chicken for about 30 hours, cut the salt to 1.5TBSP due to previous reviewer comments and the chicken was delicious. The chicken was moist, not too vinegary, and grilled to perfection. I did use fresh rosemary as well. Everyone raved about it - so now it's officially on my little Connecticut cookout circuit! In fact, I've been told it's the best chicken ever! So true, it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Low-Cal Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

This 600-calorie meal includes tangy chicken, salad, and angel food cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States