Corned Venison Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was easy, and when I got done it tasted almost like corned beef! It was amazing. I used it to make corned venison sandwiches. I would use it any way you would use corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Very good recipe I have made corned venison for years with almost the same recipe.If you add salt peter the color will be neer the same as store bought corned beef.Use this same recipe then smoke the corned venison and you now have venison pastrami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Used this last year for first time. Will use it every year !!! I made three roasts, no time to cook them so wrapped and froze. Gave to my son a few weeks later. Only got a spoon full!!!!! from the first one he made,him and his friends ate the rest. I think you will love this ,if you like corn beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I use the brine recipe and then make venison pastrami. After the 5 days, rinse the meat under cold water, pat dry. Use your hands to smear the roast with whole grain mustard. Shake on an even coating of ground black pepper and then a little granulated onion. Place the roast in a pan and then in a smoker at 275 degrees. I use hickory wood to smoke mine. The juices that gather in the pan will help keep it moist, add a little water if it starts to dry out in the pan while smoking. 4 to 5 hours until the internal temp is 165 degrees pull it out and let it rest 20 minutes. Thinly slice and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jedi_Jerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T up to the cooking method. I chose to cook mine in a slow cooker instead of the boiling method but only to play it safe. I have never boiled corned beef and didn't want to risk not liking it that way after I had spent 5 days "babysitting" it. This is an excellent way to use up venison that is taking space in the freezer. I still prefer beef over venison but that goes for all recipes and not just this one. If you are a hunter and you like corned beef, give this one a try. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is the best venison recipe that I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Tried this last week...tastes just like corned beef!! I did the refrigeration out in the garage and with freezing temps, the center of the roast froze and didn't turn the red color. I'll be doing this again soon until I run out of venison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I have made this 3 times. It is a great way to use venison roast. We make Reuben sandwiches with it. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
My husband's a hunter. It's hard for me to find recipes to use with what he brings home. I'm not crazy about game. I always keep the recipes that "fool" me into forgetting that I'm eating: deer, fish, bear, elk, etc. This recipe is awesome! I was skeptical about what this brine would really do. TRY IT! So tender and yummy! We put it on sandwiches w/swiss or provolone cheese and then grill the bread. Sooooo yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was outstanding ,lean corned venison, very tasty and didn't last long.... New favorite to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States