Corned Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Without a doubt, this is the best corned beef I've ever tasted! So tender and moist, we easily cut it with a fork. As with other reviewers I did not add salt. and also did not dice the carrots and potatoes, but cut them into large chunks and added them for the last 1 1/2 hour or so. Additionally, I added cabbage wedges for the final 30 minutes. Everything was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I didn't add any salt and this was a fabulous corned beef. Much better than boiling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very, very tender and not dry. Did not use salt as others recommended-glad I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This was good, great alternative to boiling the corned beef. I'll do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Awsome recipe but salt shouldn't be used in it, was too salty, otherwise was easy to prepare. Delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I make my own corned caribou, it was great in this recipe. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I made this 3/17/08. I believe I have found the recipe for me! I added cabbage during the last 1 1/2 hours. This turned out awesome. This was by far the best corned beef I have ever made. My husband really liked it and made sure he got the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I did this recipe in the slow cooker instead and did not add the salt. It turned out fantastic! My family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Fairhope, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
RE: CalliCo's review; you may well be right about the extra water leeching out the salt but a better way to do it would be to soak (changing every couple of hours) in water overnight in the fridge. To much water will still put you into the boiling catagory. I had a recipe for "roasted" corned beef but lost it. We've improvised and indeed, it is a bit salty. Soaking helps a lot. Aside from that this is a superior method. Esentially braising. I finish up with open roasting and/or broiling to carmelize the surface. Much more appealling than boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was delicious and so much better than boiled stringy corned beef! I put the beef up on a rack so it didn't touch the liquid and tucked all of the vegetables beneath. I also used chicken broth to flavor the vegetables a little more and then basted the beef with it several times during roasting. Perfect corned beef recipe! Can't wait to make sandwiches with the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States