Corned Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Mouthwatering, melt in your mouth, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Udall, Kansas, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This recipes is great and tasty. My family loved it. I made some changes that added to the flavor. Instead of using water i used beer and i put it in the Crock pot for about 7 hours. This recipe did not need any extra salt. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Ive been making my corn beef like this for years... however do not add more salt and use crockpot. i only use potatoes and put them in at the begining. Aways come out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stabe01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Excellent. This is supposed to rest before cutting but my husband could not keep his hands off it and ate 1/4 of it before he let it rest and cut. The recipe is great just the way it is. No extra salt. I cooked it for 4 hours at 350 and it was so tender. I added the carrots/potatoes/onion during the last 1 1/2 hours. I think I will have to go out and buy another brisket tomorrow so we have some left for sandwiches. I bought some rye bread and swiss cheese but we didn't have any left for sandwiches tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This oven method did not work for me at all. The corned beef would just not cook..after 3 hours, I took it out of the oven and simmered it on top of the stove. It came out fine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Salty and tough and just not very tasty. We tried several different recipes for our party and I'm so glad this wasn't the only thing to serve our gests. I was looking for good tender not-salty corned beef and this was not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I agree that this is an improvement over boiled corned beef. Going forward when I make this meal, I think I'll cook the meat this way, and roast the potatoes and carrots separately. I'll keep the onions and garlic with the beef, though. Instead of water I used a combination of red wine and beef stock. For the last hour in the oven I increased the temperature to 350 and removed the foil. It was much tastier than my usual corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was delicious and so much better than boiled stringy corned beef! I put the beef up on a rack so it didn't touch the liquid and tucked all of the vegetables beneath. I also used chicken broth to flavor the vegetables a little more and then basted the beef with it several times during roasting. Perfect corned beef recipe! Can't wait to make sandwiches with the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Without a doubt, this is the best corned beef I've ever tasted! So tender and moist, we easily cut it with a fork. As with other reviewers I did not add salt. and also did not dice the carrots and potatoes, but cut them into large chunks and added them for the last 1 1/2 hour or so. Additionally, I added cabbage wedges for the final 30 minutes. Everything was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Very good, alot easier than boiling, however the secret to the salt issue. When cooking corned beef ALWAYS wash in cold water before cooking. This gets a lot of the salt out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkherlehy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States