Corned Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
perfect roast corned beef. tender and juicy,not greasy or tough. Lovely. I will never boil a brisket again. Never.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Great! 1 hour per pound at 300 in a covered cast iron skillet lined with tin foil. Little red potatoes were the best; skipped the garlic and carrots. A bit salty; next time I'll try soaking in water as recommended by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was outstanding. Best corned beef dinner I've ever fixed. Thanks for the recipe. Next time I will use some fresh ground black pepper and consider using beef broth rather than water. Oh, yes, there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Excellent and easy but I did not use salt. I subsituted no-fat/low salt chicken broth for approx. half the water and a tsp or so of crushed red pepper. I probably will never boil corned beef again (tho slow cooker is also convenient and delish). The oven method however, was superior!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I had a 3# corned beef brisket which I baked for 4 hours and it came out beautifully. I cut the veggies in chunks rather than diced and they were cooked perfectly. Thank you for a great way to cook corned beef. I never liked it boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fmlevy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is now the only way I will cook a corned beef! Rather than put all the veggies in the roasting pan, I wait until about 2 hours before the roast is done to add the cabbage (quartered) and cook the carrots and potatoes separately on the stove. My husband is Irish and prefers the roasting method over the typical "boiled dinner" version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This turned out really great for me. I used my cast iron dutch oven and only needed to roast it for about 3 hours at 300 (my roast was probably half the size of the recommended one from the recipe). I added some frozen chopped napa cabbage to the bottom under the roast. I ussed a very high quality grassfed nitrate-free corned flatiron beef roast from US Wellness Meats and believe it or not, I actually had to add salt at the table. The flavor was incredible though, and my kids loved it too. But I can see how if you used one of the cheap nitrate-laden grocery store roasts you would not want any extra salt. Still, I'd recommend paying more for the healthier and tastier roast, I will definitely be making this again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This turned out wonderfully! Definitely saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was easy and very flavorful. I followed others suggestion and washed the meat in cold water after I took it out of the package (you kind of need to anyway, it's so gross right out of the package). I didn't have any garlic cloves, but it was still great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States