Corned Beef Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I took a suggestion from another reviewer.. If you cook it AS-IS it is Mushy... I cooked bacon and in the bacon fat, I super crisped the corn beef hash in batches. It was amazing! Also, I only used 1 Large potato and cut the potato into Tiny Squares vs. the Large ones in the picture. I also used 1/4 of a large onion. Personally I want to taste the meat, so I kept the onion and potato to a minimum. **One more thing, before cooking, when everything was together in the pan, I mashed up the meat. That way it was already incorporated into everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Just made this recipe only I followed one of the other reviewers and used the corned beef broth instead of the beef broth. It came out great only I wish that I could have gotten a crust on the hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I don't add any broth, I sauté onion in some oil and add cubed potatoes that have been boiled in the skins and peeled, salt and pepper to taste, then add crumbled canned corned beef and heat through. This is an old school recipe from the WW II era when meat was rationed, and you could fill up a family cheaply. Mother would add a fried egg and some canned green beans to round out our dinner - and pass the ketchup - if we had it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was really good, I did not use a can of corned beef, had thicker slices from the deli, chopped them up, also added garlic powder and cracked fresh pepper on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
My rating says "Couldn't eat it." Let me clarify: I couldn't eat it as it is written. I was able to save the ingredients from their horrible watery fate and changed the recipe entirely. Barbara43 was being polite in describing this as a pile of mush. By the time I got the potatoes softened everything was still floating in liquid. I bailed on the process, drained the skillet through a collander and then cooked the potato, onion and corned beef mixture in melted butter. That dried it out and saved it. However, the recipe as it stands is exceedingly bland and uninteresting. I added about a teaspoon or two of Worchestershire Sauce and about a teaspoon of Tabasco Sauce (I don't measure--I just shake it in till it looks right). I sprinkled in some very coarse ground black pepper and a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lafitte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Floydada, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It was really easy and satisfying. My whole family liked it. I think next time I will use fresh corned beef instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I've been making this for years and years the only I add when serving is some grated cheese and diced green onions and top with poached eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I had to add a lot of seasoning because it was just tasteless. However, after I did that it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Easy, and well recieved by hubby. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I also add carrots peas sweetcorn any veg I can find boil potatoes with veg add stock cubes add corned beef last and serve with warm garlic bread kids love it every time I add mango chutney too my bowl as well very versatile recipe my brother adds baked beans and curry powder to his instead of all the veg. I grated the tatties so no need to mash and put a dash of Worcestershire sauce. Mix well, or as I say up here in Scotland, "baet well" and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grpa

Displaying results 11-20 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States