Corned Beef Hash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I thought that this recipe was terrific and needed not too much time to prepare. I did, however; dip the cakes into egg and roll into bread crumbs. This helped the cakes stay together because they have a tendency to fall apart when frying. I served this with a mixture of 1 tb. dijon mustard, 3 tb. mayonaisse. My six year old daughter came back for seconds. Great with a tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKissingCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
my husband loves corn beef hash and this one is a keeper! definitely add the egg to keep the cakes from falling apart. wonderful flavor and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I left out the onions. These cakes are REALLY good. The smell when they are frying up is amazing, and then when you finally eat it....with these around we didn't need bacon with breakfast. We did have problems keeping the cakes together, maybe because we fried it in oil and that was not specified in the recipe, but I dont think that was it. I even tried adding about 2 tbsp of flour to the mixture, but it didn't help out. But I do recommend adding that flour, because it gives the cake a density that was nice. I will have to try the suggestion by TheKissingCook next time. The lady at the deli counter was nice enough to shave the corned beef for us, so that was easy, and we used the entire half pound, hoping to make the cakes stick together more. We also used butter and herb instant mashed potatoes (took 3 minutes to make in the microwave) - might try cheddar or roasted garlic flavored, next time. I also like the idea of corn, so I may try that also, next time. We served this with feta scrambled eggs, and it went very well together. WE LOVED THESE CAKES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I just made these Corned Beef Hash Cakes with my leftovers from St Paddy's day. They were great! I added an egg to the mixture. My husband loved them and I will add them to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I saw many have stated that their "cakes" fell apart during cooking or were difficult to keep together. To correct this, crack an egg in your mixture and mix well before forming into cakes and frying. This will keep them together and will also assure even browning. This is a simple and dish with a wonderful taste. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blue-eyes
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These hashcakes are just like the ones my mom used to make! I used leftover corned beef and boiled potatoes from St. Patricks, mashed the potatoes, and followed the recipe. You have to use an egg as a sticking agent, I don't see how it would hold together without. My family ate them all in less than 15 minutes! Great use for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was FANTASTIC and just what I was looking for. I actually did not want cakes, but wanted corned beef hash. My husband loves the canned hash for breakfast with his eggs. Too me it smells worse than can dog food. I gave this a whirl this morning with my left over corned beef. He went to work a happy man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
BE PATIENT!!!! Go by the recipe, refrigerate for at least half an hour before cooking and don't turn too many times while cooking and these will be perfect. Enjoy :o)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is a dish we make a lot in Bermuda and we add 1 egg, parsley, thyme, garlic powder. Also dip in flour before frying. Make sure you don't fry the onions in too much oil as it will stop the mixture from keeping together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
My mother made this for years....yes, you need to add an egg as binder; but, there is also three other things to do to keep the ingredients from falling apart...1. make stiff potatoes, 2. refigerate mixture until thoroughly cold and then 3. lightly flower patty before frying. Also, mom always made this recipe using canned corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States