Corned Beef Hash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I make something like this which my family really loves. I use 1 can of corned beef. Instead of mashed potatoes, I bake a couple of potatoes in the microwave and mash it into the corned beef. I add a couple of eggs, green onions, mix well. Form the patties and fry in oil. This recipe does not have the problem of falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Love this recipe my mom use to make it when I was young.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was ok, I used canned hash instead of the mashed potatoes. Was a little bland. Used mainly the cooking method and the suggestion to add an egg. My FIL has nostalgia for these---his mom used to make them. He wanted me to make some for the super bowl appies. I attempted them! Added a slice of cheese to melt on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I have tried making corned beef hash several and was never satisfied. I just couldn't seem to get enough flavor. I think using mashed potatoes helps the flavor to permeate throughout. To save time, I used instant mashed potatoes and made them a little dry. I only made two small patties just to try them, and I didn't have too much trouble holding them together. I put the rest of the mixture in the refrigerator to have for breakfast, and I think I will try adding an egg. I believe leaving them overnight will enhance the flavor. Can't wait to try them in the morning with a fried egg on top !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was a great base recipe. After reading some of the reviews and the problems about them falling apart, I added an egg and some panko and for flavor some Lawry's seasoned salt. Also gave the mixture a few pulses in the food processor which helped with the binding, I think. Fried them up in olive oil and my kids wolfed them down. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I tried this this morning and they were great. I also add two eggs and caned corned beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
the common complaint with them holding together was true: these were too soft to turn. when I make regular potato pancakes from mashed taters I make mine with an egg and 2 TB of flour mixed into the taters to get them to hold together....so treated this the same way....add a little flour and 1 beaten egg to the mix. Personally I also added 1/8 tsp garlic for added flavor...so I liked the basic idea of the hasbbrown CAKE and then doctored it up a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
I made this recipe with regular roast beef and it was excellent. Made a double batch and baked the extra for 20 minutes (warmed through). It was very good both ways!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made Colcannon and Guinness Corned Beef for St. Pat's day so I made mine with the Colcannon and the Guinness Corned Beef left overs, AMAZING. I did put the patties into flour before frying, it helped then be less sticky. The dinner was fabulous and the breakfast was just as good! We may have this more than once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
awesome recipe, just like my mom used to make! Had a really hard time getting them flipped in the pan even with the added egg, so my genius husband came up with the great idea of using our pannini maker. Worked amazing!! will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexii

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States