Corned Beef Hash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I saw many have stated that their "cakes" fell apart during cooking or were difficult to keep together. To correct this, crack an egg in your mixture and mix well before forming into cakes and frying. This will keep them together and will also assure even browning. This is a simple and dish with a wonderful taste. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I thought that this recipe was terrific and needed not too much time to prepare. I did, however; dip the cakes into egg and roll into bread crumbs. This helped the cakes stay together because they have a tendency to fall apart when frying. I served this with a mixture of 1 tb. dijon mustard, 3 tb. mayonaisse. My six year old daughter came back for seconds. Great with a tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKissingCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I liked this much better than the homemade corned beef hash I made recently. Liked them even better when I made a few additions--a good shake of Cajun seasoning, a couple of cloves of garlic (minced, thrown in toward the end of the onion cooking) and about 2/3 cup corn. With a nice salad, it was a quick and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good hash, but it needs a little more flavor. I like corned beef hash and I like the idea of making it fresh I also like the idea of making it into cakes. It won't fry into a hard, fast-food hash brown because the mashed potatoes have too much water. Next time I'll use more corned beef, maybe more onion, and maybe some bread crumbs to absorb a little moisture. But still, its a good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
BE PATIENT!!!! Go by the recipe, refrigerate for at least half an hour before cooking and don't turn too many times while cooking and these will be perfect. Enjoy :o)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
my husband loves corn beef hash and this one is a keeper! definitely add the egg to keep the cakes from falling apart. wonderful flavor and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I am not sure where to start with this one....the flavor was so ON it's not funny (and I think that has everything to do with how the corned beef is prepared), but these cakes don't stay together. I added an egg, and would add another next time. I also added about a teaspoon and a half of dijon mustard and a small palmful of dried chives. Formed the patties and let them rest for a good hour and they still crumbled in the pan. Ultimately, I just added liquid and made a hash out of them. It was delicious, but this recipe needs to call for at least 2 eggs and perhaps something more in order to bind the mixture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I just made these Corned Beef Hash Cakes with my leftovers from St Paddy's day. They were great! I added an egg to the mixture. My husband loved them and I will add them to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blue-eyes
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These hashcakes are just like the ones my mom used to make! I used leftover corned beef and boiled potatoes from St. Patricks, mashed the potatoes, and followed the recipe. You have to use an egg as a sticking agent, I don't see how it would hold together without. My family ate them all in less than 15 minutes! Great use for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
O.K. I tried these this morning, and yes they did want to fall apart, however, letting the batch sit for about an hour, and they firm up.There really isn't much flavor to them, added onion powder, and garlic powder, but still kind of tasteless. Put the rest of the batch in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States