Corned Beef Hash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I thought that this recipe was terrific and needed not too much time to prepare. I did, however; dip the cakes into egg and roll into bread crumbs. This helped the cakes stay together because they have a tendency to fall apart when frying. I served this with a mixture of 1 tb. dijon mustard, 3 tb. mayonaisse. My six year old daughter came back for seconds. Great with a tossed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheKissingCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I liked this much better than the homemade corned beef hash I made recently. Liked them even better when I made a few additions--a good shake of Cajun seasoning, a couple of cloves of garlic (minced, thrown in toward the end of the onion cooking) and about 2/3 cup corn. With a nice salad, it was a quick and delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I left out the onions. These cakes are REALLY good. The smell when they are frying up is amazing, and then when you finally eat it....with these around we didn't need bacon with breakfast. We did have problems keeping the cakes together, maybe because we fried it in oil and that was not specified in the recipe, but I dont think that was it. I even tried adding about 2 tbsp of flour to the mixture, but it didn't help out. But I do recommend adding that flour, because it gives the cake a density that was nice. I will have to try the suggestion by TheKissingCook next time. The lady at the deli counter was nice enough to shave the corned beef for us, so that was easy, and we used the entire half pound, hoping to make the cakes stick together more. We also used butter and herb instant mashed potatoes (took 3 minutes to make in the microwave) - might try cheddar or roasted garlic flavored, next time. I also like the idea of corn, so I may try that also, next time. We served this with feta scrambled eggs, and it went very well together. WE LOVED THESE CAKES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I saw many have stated that their "cakes" fell apart during cooking or were difficult to keep together. To correct this, crack an egg in your mixture and mix well before forming into cakes and frying. This will keep them together and will also assure even browning. This is a simple and dish with a wonderful taste. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I made these for an Irish potluck and they tasted all right, but not like the corned beef hash that I am used to. Also, they fell apart so I dipped them in egg and breaded them which helped. Not my favorite and won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
my husband loves corn beef hash and this one is a keeper! definitely add the egg to keep the cakes from falling apart. wonderful flavor and simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
O.K. I tried these this morning, and yes they did want to fall apart, however, letting the batch sit for about an hour, and they firm up.There really isn't much flavor to them, added onion powder, and garlic powder, but still kind of tasteless. Put the rest of the batch in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
What a great way to use up a little corned beef. I did add an egg as suggested and had no problem with the cakes falling apart. Otherwise I folled the recipe exactly except I didn't use any salt because I used potatoes cooked in the corned beef broth which was plenty salty. Will make these again. TFTR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I just made these Corned Beef Hash Cakes with my leftovers from St Paddy's day. They were great! I added an egg to the mixture. My husband loved them and I will add them to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I am not sure where to start with this one....the flavor was so ON it's not funny (and I think that has everything to do with how the corned beef is prepared), but these cakes don't stay together. I added an egg, and would add another next time. I also added about a teaspoon and a half of dijon mustard and a small palmful of dried chives. Formed the patties and let them rest for a good hour and they still crumbled in the pan. Ultimately, I just added liquid and made a hash out of them. It was delicious, but this recipe needs to call for at least 2 eggs and perhaps something more in order to bind the mixture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States