Corned Beef Hash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
BE PATIENT!!!! Go by the recipe, refrigerate for at least half an hour before cooking and don't turn too many times while cooking and these will be perfect. Enjoy :o)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Cakes fell apart a bit, even using an egg, but still delicious. Used the mayo/mustard combo that another reviewer suggested as a dipping sauce - *very* tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was FANTASTIC and just what I was looking for. I actually did not want cakes, but wanted corned beef hash. My husband loves the canned hash for breakfast with his eggs. Too me it smells worse than can dog food. I gave this a whirl this morning with my left over corned beef. He went to work a happy man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I had the total opposite problem of most reviewers - my mixture was FAR too wet to make patties out of! I did add the egg AND use instant mashed potatoes and that must be the difference... I wonder how dry other people's potatoes must be that the cakes a) can be formed at all and b) crumble upon cooking. I added some frozen shredded hash browns to give mine some more bulk, then just glopped it on the griddle like really thick pancake batter. The egg helped them crisp up on the outside so they still flipped nicely... went over well at my office's weekly team breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARGAZER8383

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
My mom made these too! She'd sometimes add peas, if they were left over from Sunday dinner. She didn't try to make them into patties though. It was simply fried up in one piece in a heavy frying pan. Our serving was the size of the egg-turner. She'd also sometimes make an indentation to 'fry' an egg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blue-eyes
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
These hashcakes are just like the ones my mom used to make! I used leftover corned beef and boiled potatoes from St. Patricks, mashed the potatoes, and followed the recipe. You have to use an egg as a sticking agent, I don't see how it would hold together without. My family ate them all in less than 15 minutes! Great use for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I am not sure where to start with this one....the flavor was so ON it's not funny (and I think that has everything to do with how the corned beef is prepared), but these cakes don't stay together. I added an egg, and would add another next time. I also added about a teaspoon and a half of dijon mustard and a small palmful of dried chives. Formed the patties and let them rest for a good hour and they still crumbled in the pan. Ultimately, I just added liquid and made a hash out of them. It was delicious, but this recipe needs to call for at least 2 eggs and perhaps something more in order to bind the mixture. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I just made these Corned Beef Hash Cakes with my leftovers from St Paddy's day. They were great! I added an egg to the mixture. My husband loved them and I will add them to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
What a great way to use up a little corned beef. I did add an egg as suggested and had no problem with the cakes falling apart. Otherwise I folled the recipe exactly except I didn't use any salt because I used potatoes cooked in the corned beef broth which was plenty salty. Will make these again. TFTR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
O.K. I tried these this morning, and yes they did want to fall apart, however, letting the batch sit for about an hour, and they firm up.There really isn't much flavor to them, added onion powder, and garlic powder, but still kind of tasteless. Put the rest of the batch in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States