Corned Beef Hash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Just ok, probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made this for dinner with left over Corned Beef. Had to add an egg and plopped scoops into seasoned flour, coating them completely, to get them not to fall apart on the griddle. Forwent prefrying the onion but it was quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was really tasty, made from tinned corned beef. Did add an egg to the mixture and put in fridge for 30 mins and covered in flour before frying, as mentioned in comments.Will def be making again very soon. Also made too much this time, so half went in freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Good hash, but it needs a little more flavor. I like corned beef hash and I like the idea of making it fresh I also like the idea of making it into cakes. It won't fry into a hard, fast-food hash brown because the mashed potatoes have too much water. Next time I'll use more corned beef, maybe more onion, and maybe some bread crumbs to absorb a little moisture. But still, its a good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
It will help keep them together if you make them smaller & med-high heat with little oil. Let them get nice & crispy on one side & you should have no problem flipping;) Had these this morning & the hubby loved 'em. Have fun chefin' it up, I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
My mother made this for years....yes, you need to add an egg as binder; but, there is also three other things to do to keep the ingredients from falling apart...1. make stiff potatoes, 2. refigerate mixture until thoroughly cold and then 3. lightly flower patty before frying. Also, mom always made this recipe using canned corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Have been making for years. Mom made these when I was a little kid. We use left over beef roast instead of corned beef. Today I used left over venison roast. I really don't measure since we have been making for years. The difference is that we grind the meat with a meat grinder and we use a egg. It is easier to shred, but I feel you get a more even texture and taste by grinding. If you don't want to mess your hands up by patting, use a measuring cup, put in fry pan and squash with a spatula. I prefer to use olive oil. If you want to freeze, spray a pan with cooking spray, make the patties by using the measuring cup, spatula method. When froze put into freeze bags. It also is a must with me that I use ketchup on top of the patty. I also put ketchup on top of corned beef hash and fried potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
great recipe..have made this for years with a few exceptions. I adda egg as a binder, and used canned corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is a dish we make a lot in Bermuda and we add 1 egg, parsley, thyme, garlic powder. Also dip in flour before frying. Make sure you don't fry the onions in too much oil as it will stop the mixture from keeping together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
BE PATIENT!!!! Go by the recipe, refrigerate for at least half an hour before cooking and don't turn too many times while cooking and these will be perfect. Enjoy :o)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

Coconut Milk Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make corned beef, Thai-style, with coconut milk and curry paste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States