Corned Beef Hash (Abalos style) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Add hot peppers to taste serve over rice yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elsie Chafe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
My father brought back from the Panama Canal zone during WWII, a recipe for Bully Beef; Corned beef, onion, garlic, potatoes, in a white grave. I was looking for a similar recipe and found this one. I like it. I made it by the recipe except that I used frozen diced potatoes that I thawed in the nuker. It made the cooking time way faster. Oh and my tomato plants have given out, so I used a can of diced tomatoes drained. It's not the most fragrant dish, but it's good and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I really can't give this recipe more than three stars because the success of the dish is greatly influenced by the quality of the canned corned beef that goes into it. My wife is from Mindinao in the Philippines, and she is accustomed to brands of corned beef which are readily available in the Philippines and which we can buy at our local Asian market. Of course, these brands always have added MSG, and that is one of the ingredients that would make the dish seem "authentic" to a Filipino. Additionally, I have not been happy with a couple of US brands of corned beef due to them having copious amounts of lard, and the resulting dish tends to be too greasy. Additionally, in the recipe instructions, Ringonian cooks the diced potatoes for 7 to 10 minutes prior to adding the corned beef. I think this is a mistake. I always add the potatoes after the corned beef, so that they only cook for about 10 minutes and remain slightly crisp. We always serve this with rice and eggs over easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Way too wet. Like another reviewer said, the flavors didn't go very well together. Used an Australian corned beef and it was just too greasy to eat. Tried putting it over rice, and also like another reviewer said, the 2 starches were redundant and it made the flavor even stranger. Won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is a simple and wholesome meal... potatoes are the starch so rice is not neccessary or I'd leave the potatoes out of the recipe if one is going to put over rice. Also... I read several people state their potatoes were not cooked through... I always boil my potatoes for about 5 to 10 minutes then I prepare as directed... also I used strained rotel... it adds an awesome flavor! thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
It looks and smell very unappealing. I guess we just dont like corned beef hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I thought this was good except I thought the garlic was a little too much. Other than that, I liked it and so did my sister. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinytink36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
It would not make this again, the flavors just did not go very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was perfect. Great for camping for any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkWizard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ore City, Texas, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
haha this was my fav growing up!!i am filipino and im excited to try this recipe. mine never came out as good as my moms. i hope this will be a hit with my hubby, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef Hash

See how to make a simple, top-rated corned beef hash.

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States