Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Very lacking in flavor. Best recipe on this site is the 'Slow cooked Corned Beef for Sandwiches' on this site. Once you tried it you won't need any other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I liked the recipe. I had never corned beef before. I corned over 50 pounds of beef for a club dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
This is awesome if you have the time and patients, Can't get this from a store, or restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Wonderful recipe! The corned beef was so tender and delcicious! My husband had bought two 11-pound pieces of brisket on sale (you know, buy one, get one free) not realizing that the bigger pieces of brisket are much more tough than say, an 8-pound brisket. After smoking one brisket and finding it excessively chewy and unappetizing, I decided to corn the remaining monster. I used pickling salt (this doesn't have iodine in it and so you wont get a funky, bitter after taste) as well as some Penzey's corning spices in the salt brine. Target has some wonderful glass pickle jars that come with lids - and the large one (it's around $12.99) held this 11-pound brisket, cut into 2 pieces, with no problem. In fact, I had to make more salt brine to cover it all and the pickle jar held the huge hunk of meat along with 1 1/2 gallons of brine easily. We have eaten the corned beef with the caggage, potatoes, etc as well as made some killer Reuben sandwhiches! Even though we just ate all this corned beef in February, my family is already clamoring for it to be made and served again for St. Patrick's Day! PS If the beef is too tender and falls apart when you slice it for sandwhiches, just chill the meat really well and it then holds together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This recipe make a hearty meal. I followed it exactly except for the turnip which I didn't have on hand in the kitchen and it turned out great. . I've made it a few times and it always turns out the same. No problems with the recipe that I can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I don't know what went wrong. I followed the directions exactly and the meat turned out grey and not flavorful at all. Maybe it soaked in the brine too long because I used a smaller piece of meat (2 lbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
It smelled like corn beef, but the flavor just wasn't there. Not sure what went wrong...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
A bit bland but the meat was good for sandwiches...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I was very surprised that it was sooo close to the kind you buy in the store. Everyone like this, even one person that HATES corned beef LOVED this recipe. Will Corn again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
not what I expected. the flavour was good, but the texture was too stringy. and it looked kind of grey. i may try it again, but store bought is sooo good, I may not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States