Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
We thought this was a solid recipe and will use this again when we buy our next cow. The butcher doesn't tell you how to make corned beef and we decided we would try this. We just made the beef briskett part and used the spices and it turned out good. Adjust salt to weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I've made this recipe at least four times and it's an excellent, frugal alternative to buying a corned beef. It scales down well, can be made with the cheapest cuts of beef and is all around excellent. I find that boiling the cabbage for 45 mins is way too long and am still experimenting with the right amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I did all the recipe called for 5 lb brisket 7 days in brine, meat was grey and tasteless. so embarrassing. 8 people for dinner. we ate cabbage and potatoes. threw the meat out. very expensive mistake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Thanks for posting this recipe. I have been looking for a long time for an easy way to "corn" my own! I think those reviewers that want a pink color and not gray, need to look into recipes that add "Prague Powder". It is a pink salt plus preservative often used in sausage, and it is what turns the commercial corned beef pink. I also want to ask those that have tried this recipe, if they found their beef a little too salty, because the amount of salt is much higher than the other recipe, Kosher style Corned Beef. I tend to think the amount is correct, because some say that the meat was bland, but others say it is too salty?! Does that mean the salt does not get into the meat? I rated it 5 stars because it looks like a great recipe and I cook commercially prepared corned beef with the same veggies and it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Better than anything you will get in the store and easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
no redish color like the store kind, was it because i did not have a stainless or cast iron pot and did the soaking in tupperware? anyway, my husband loved it, said it was better then store bought. i thought it was salty and it made the veggies salty. maybe thats why my grandmother used to cook her corned beef for an hour, drain the water and start with fresh water for the rest of the cooking time, she probably corned her own beef back in the early 1920's when she was a young wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Averill Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
You need to about double the cooking time here if you want this to be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
yum so good.i purfer using red cabbage with this dish.what do you think?try it your self.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This was great thanks so much I never realized it was so easy to corn beef. I will be making this a lot now. I did add some garlic, a bay leaf and a can of beer to it but otherwise I did it as the recipe called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Enjoyed this a lot. Simple recipe and has been a staple for us on some special occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States