Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was a pretty quick and simple receipe, though the meat was not as tender as I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I have made corn beef and cabbage every St. Patties Day for many years, and this year wanted to try a different recipe. I will never go back to my old one. This was simple, and the taste was amazing. I started it on the stove, and after 3 hours, transferred the meat with just a ladle of juice into a crockpot, then started to boil the carrots in the remainder of the juice for 15 minuted, then added the potatoes, and lastly the cabbage. Then added all to the crockpot, just to keep warm till ready to eat. You gotta try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was very good and exactly as I remembered from when my mom made it. My meat didn't come with a seasoning packet so I was worried, but the meat had plenty of flavor. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added a 16.9 oz bottle of beer at the beginning when I added the water, and the meat had wonderful flavor. I didn't even bother with the butter and parsley at the end, and I also just added my chunked veggies to the pot during the last 45 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Airmont, New York, USA
Living In: Hastings On Hudson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is very nice way to cook everything. It makes the meat very tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
GREAT recipe. I tripled the peppercorns and also added a bottle of Michelob light when I began the simmer. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe exactly and it came out perfect! I need to make this more often than just the obligatory St. Patrick's Day feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This dish came out fabulous. It was the best corned beef and cabbage I've ever had. I took the meat out and let it rest while I cooked the vegetables because there wasn't enough room in the pot for it all. Also, I thought it was ruined because the meat never seemed tender with a fork, but when we sliced it, it was nice and tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I have been a member of this site for quite some time now but I have never left a comment until now. This dish has now become a family favorite which surprised me because we are a family of very picky eaters! We all fought who was going to get the leftovers the next day! I did make minor adjustments & thats just because we like specific tastes in our meals. We just increased the garlic power (added more as I was cooking) and added maybe a tsp of minced garlic. Thats it! Excellent dish and def. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was by far the best corned beef & cabbage i've ever made. It was very tender and wasn't dried out. The only thing I did differently was to add the spice packet that came with the beef and added a lot more potatoes and carrots to feed all 4 of us. the guys love their potatoes. There are even enough for leftovers. Yummy recipe definately a keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teechurkids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I grew up on my grandma's corned beef and cabbage on St. Paddy's Day, which she overcooked until dry and stringy. Understandably, I shied away from corned beef and cabbage for many years, until persuaded to try it well into my adulthood. It's recipes like this one that have convinced me that corned beef can in fact be juicy, flavorful and delicious; thank you for rescuing me from a bleak culinary memory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States