Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This was okay--especially liked that it was tender--but it just didn't have that corned beef "zing" I was looking for. Might try it again but the real keeper on this sight is the corned beef for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Awesome recipe! I used apple juice instead of water as another reviewer did. I'll never use just water again! The next day left-over corned beef, I boiled again for an hour in apple juice and added fresh cabbage. Even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
very good. I cooked two smaller brisket tips, poured the enclosed pouch over them, used celery salt as I didn't have celery and baked at 250 for 6 hours. The cabbage was wonderful. Got raves on this and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Orange in the corned beef, Brilliant! Apple in the cabbage, Brilliant! This is the best CB&C I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I am not sure how the previous user could only score this one star. I made this recipe on 03/11 for my husband and we had 2 guests for dinner. I made the recipe as is listed. It said serves 8 with 5 1/2 lbs of brisket. THERE WAS NOTHING LEFT!! I even served baby red boiled taters with it. We just could not stop dipping that fork into the meat platter. It was moist and cut like butter. My guest commented cabbage had a great flavor not "saurkrouty". This is a keeper that I will make again soon and not just for St. Paddy's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This took forever to cook and it was dry. The cabbage and apples were good..i wont be using this method again. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Awesome! Will never boil corned beef again. Took previous suggestions: made sauce with sr. cream, horseradish, and dijon; and cooked for 6 hrs. on 250,etc. Everyone loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Let me add my rave review, just in case 37 positive ones were not enough. If you are thinking of trying this out, don't hesitate...run to the store and get what you need! We all loved it, such an improvement over rubbery boiled corned beef! I used the slow cooker method and cooked it for 8 hours on low, but it was probably done in about 6.5 hours. My brisket was only about 3 pounds to start, so I didn't use as much pickling spice. Otherwise I didn't change a thing...spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I haven't made this recipe YET, but I plan on making and serving it for St. Patrick's Day supper. I've been a member of Allrecipes for almost 5 years and this is the first time I've seen a recipe with so many 5-star ratings. Last night I used my "old" recipe and boiled a corned beef. It had a delicious flavor but was dry and chewy. I'm throwing out that old recipe and replacing it with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I've used this recipe for the past 2 years to feed about 85 people at our church supper and it really brings RAVE reviews! People who usually don't like corned beef like this ---- and those that do like corned beef say it's the best they've ever eaten. I think that tightly sealing it in the oven enhances the flavor. (Boiling on top of the stove method tends to "wash" out the flavor!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cohoes, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States