Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The BEST corned beef and cabbage. I used the cooking bag for the oven. Also I followed the recipe exactly and the broth from the meat, fruit and veggies was just delicious. Also, if brand names are allowed I purchased a Boar's Head corned beef and it was the most lean product. The entire dinner was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I made this last night for St. Patrick's Day, and it was a hit with my entire family, including my uber-picky husband and 9 year-old son. VERY easy and very yummy. I cooked it in my crock pot on low for about 6 hours, threw in some potatoes for the last three hours, and it came out beautifully. This is joining our regular dinner rotation, by everyone's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
"You are adding oranges to the corned beef?????" was my husband's question and his next comment "I like it boiled - I am not sure I will like it with oranges!"...5 hours later, I could not stop him from eating it and telling me "this is the nest corned beef you have ever made!" THANK YOU for recipe and the added reviews that gave me the idea to: use an oven bag instead of the aluminun foil (it is hard to keep the foil well sealed- may be this is the reason for one of the comments that the recipe had ended too dry - no way with the oven bag!) I follow the recipe as indicated otherwise, and the meat was so flavorful, not salty and it melted in your mouth! Thanks to the person who suggested serving with a sauce made of sour cream, horseradish and dijon mustartd - great combination. I served with boiled red potatoes which I peeled only a strip to prevent them from bursting during the cooking, and I used a 1/4 cup of this water to boil the cabbage and the apples - which end up adding such as food flavor to the whole siddings. I can understand now why this recipe got such "wow!" reviews - here is to the lady who so generously shared this recipe, and a big "WOW!" to your recipe! Update: I have been making this recipe for some time, and for those who are worried about the time to cook a different size of beef - the formula is 50 minutes per lb. and it is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myriam Cabello

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Los Altos, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I took the advice of others and used apple juice instead of water and cooked on 250 for 6 hours. I also used the apple juice with the cabbage. This recipe was so delicious that I will never boil corned beef again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Another 5 start review~! I use recipes from this site all the time but this is close to the first time I've ever felt compelled to review. In short, cabbage hating hubby loved verything including the cabbage. Visiting Italian guest said "Hurray for the Irish!" I did the following: Used my largest lasagne pan, added apple juice instead of water per suggestions. Covered corned beef etc, tightly with several layers of foil. After 3 hours I removed the oranges and piled in the quartered cabbage, apple wedges, whole onions, carrot chunks and new potatoes. Sealed up again with foil and left it go for about 2 hours and everything was done to perfection! I also will never boil again. Thanks so much to the submitter for this fabulous recipe! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
The other reviewers nailed this one square on - it is far and away the best corned beef I have ever cooked. I used the cooking bag method rather than foil and it kept the meat moist as could be. The only change I made was that I poured half a cup of beer into the roasting bag before sealing it instead of half a cup of water. Guests agreed with my husband and me that it was the best they'd ever had. I will never cook it any other way again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This St. Patty's Day I told my mother I was going to do the cooking and try a different way to cook the corned beef. She looked at me with horror on her face because she is the boil queen and really doesn't like to change the "TRADITION". Well I like adventure and variety, She also told my dad who is a chef and his response was, "It is going to come out to dry". Well, my mom loved it, hubby and my nieces, my dad isn't home from work yet but I can't wait to show him my "DRY" corned beef and cabbage (haha). It wasn't dry by any means. I made two separate pan fulls and I have approx a half of a corned beef left and we were feeding 5/6 people. I made it with another recipe call "foil wrapped veggies" which went great with this. Thank you for the great proven wrong recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I will never, ever boil my corned beef again. EVER! It smelled delicious while baking all day. I made a 4 lb. piece at 250 degrees. I added apple juice instead of water in both the beef dish and the cabbage. The apples were a nice touch. I started out with bacon fat instead of margarine. Personal preference. Gives it a nice smokey, meaty taste. I made boiled potatoes on the side. I threw a little bit of apple juice in that water also. Enjoy! You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
All of my life I have had "boiled" corned beef. This recipe is delicious! The corned beef turned out very tender. Me and my family loved it! The apples in the cabbage was good, but something seemed to be missing. Will try different things and let you know what I find. Thanks for the hint about cooking at 250, I think that made the difference. I will never boil again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is the best way to make corned beef - so easy and delicious!! Everyone loves it! We serve with "Champ" mashed potatoes (potatoes with whipping cream and butter and green onion) and the "Irish Soda Bread" recipe off of this website. A great holiday meal and tradition. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States