Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I tried this recipe because of so many great reviews but it wasn't what I expected. The meat WAS very tender but the whole dish had a different flavor than I remember. My mom used to make thas and called it Boiled Dinner and I hoped for this flavor--I guess I should have tried one of the more traditional recipes. Sorry.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beema

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quaker Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was definately the best corned beef I ever made. Loved the flavor of the orange slices. I made mine in the crockpot. Next time I will try the roasting bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Wonderful! Cooked it in a roasting bag: 4 hours at 275 for a 5.4lbs brisket. Otherwise, I made it exactly by the recipe. Everyone loved it (although the kids were crazy about the cabbage). My husband and I thought the cabbage had a nice subtle flavor that complemented the corned beef perfectly. I'll be making this again . . .maybe even before next St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Really good done in a crock pot. The orange gives it a real kick. If you put the cabbage in the meat juice instead of water, you don't even need butter or margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I loved this recipe! I've always boiled my corned beef. Never again! The cabbage was great. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmillan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Absolutely great recipe. Corned beef went so fast I swear the platter never hit the table. Apples mixed in the cabbage is a nice touch, does make a difference. Did try a few changes. Used an oven bag instead of foil, and added apple juice instead of water to both the bag and the cabbage. When corned beef was done, I basted with a glaze (1/2 cup light karo syrup - or honey - and 2 tsp of prepared mustard), put under broiler for @ 2 minutes, rebaste and another 2 minutes, just until carmalized...be careful not to burn. Served with remaining glaze, a side dish of horseradish and a side of 1000 Island dressing. Oh, make sure you do a big brisket. Leftovers are just as good if not better, especially for Reuben sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I always dreaded St. Paddy's day, hated cooking corned beef and cabbage, having leftovers no one really wanted. I read the reviews and they all sounded so good I tried it. No leftovers! My husband said it was the best he ever had. And my dad said it was really good. Most times the food is just "Alright!" This is going in my recipe box forever. I'll never boil again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
I was about to banish corned beef and cabbage from my vocabulary after being disappointed time and again with traditional recipes. This recipe will replace any recipes I currently have. It was excellent! I used the large oven bag and baked at 275 degrees for about 5 hours. I added baby carrots in with the cabbage and cooked red potatoes on the side. I also mixed up the sauce recommended by one of the revewers (sour cream, dijon mustard, horseradish, and mayo). The meal was a hit with my entire family. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Wonderful! I used just onions on top and used juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
WOW!!! I've never been a huge fan of Corned Beef, but since my husband loves it, I cook it for him. This was amazing. I will NEVER again boil my corned beef! I followed a couple of the other reviewer's tips and used a turkey sized oven bag and apple juice instead of water. I didn't use the apples in the cabbage...it just didn't sound good to me. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe...I now love corned beef as much as my husband does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States