Corned Beef and Cabbage II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This is delicious. I've never made corned beef and cabbage before, this was easy and my whole family loved it. My only problem was having to smell it for 4 hours before I could eat it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Oh so good, it was very tender and moist. I didn't change a thing and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Oh WOW! This was INCREDIBLE! I followed the directions exactly and didn't even bother to make the cabbage since I knew my family wouldn't like it and this was the Best Corned Beef I've ever had/made! My Hubby said I had to make it this way from now on. And the smells in my house while this was cooking was wonderful! Like others I was alittle scared about the orange but it didn't taste like that at all, it blends in well w/ the pickling spice, my only complaint was that I didn't need to cook it for 4 hours but I knew that my oven tends to cook at a higher temp anyways so at 3 hours I doubled checked the beef to see how it was cooking and it was already done. ***UPDATE*** I make this every few months now and everone loves this. I even have a few Irish poeple who request this dish when they come over for dinner. DEFINATLY give this recipe a try. I have not had one person who didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
My past experiences with Corned Beef has always conjured up images of bland, over-boiled, chewy shoe leather. This recipe is nothing like that. If you like the boiling method, stay with it. The beef in the baking method will taste nothing like the typical boiling method. Boiling/Simmering "washes" out the flavor/salt in the corned beef, whereas the baking method intensifies the "corned" flavor. I will never go back to boiling ever again. I followed another review's lead and used apple cider rather than water; I also added some whole black peppercorns and a couple of whole cloves. My corned beef was only a mere 3#, so I baked it for just under 3 hours. I had no problems with the meat drying out - make sure your oven is calibrated, or use an oven thermometer. Next time I might follow another reviewer's lead and use a roasting bag rather than foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This was very easy and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
It was okay, but I like the corned beef with Guinness recipe just as well, and I don't have to deal with the orange and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Everyone loved it! Next time I will try it in the slow cooker. I used a bag of shredded cabbage for slaw. It worked very nicely with out the chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I made this corned beef for St Patty's Day and it was really good! My husband loved it. The only problem i had was cooking time - my roast was only 3.5 lbs, so i wasn't sure how long to cook. I erred on the side of too long and it was a bit dry, but that was my fault not the recipe. Also, the cabbage with apples was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I'd said I wasn't making corned beef and cabbage anymore because it always came out blah, but read all these reviews and gave it a try. Used a flat cut corned beef, so it was very lean and used apple juice for the water. Also, cooked at 250. Very moist and so much more flavorful than the boiled stuff!! My 21 month old couldn't get enough of the meat! Now we'll be having a good old Irish meal on every St. Pat's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States