Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was THE BEST corned beef and cabbage that I have ever made. I never had used a recipe before, let alone added carrots. Anyhow, I used a 4 lb. brisket that I trimmed of most visible fat without sacrificing the integrity of the meat. Also rinsed the meat well (couldn't bear to use that bloody junk that was packaged with it) before putting it into an 11 qt. stockpot with the spices that were packaged with it. Added 1 can Miller Lite beer, water to cover, 3 large cloves of minced garlic, and about 12 whole black peppers. About 1 hour before the beef was supposed to be done, I added the potatoes, carrots, and 2 small turnips, chopped. Forty minutes later I added the green cabbage wedges and 1 large onion, cut into wedges. Twenty minutes later all was done and it was DELICIOUS. [P.S. I served this with a horseradish sauce--mix together 3/4 cup sour cream, 1/4 cup white prepared horseradish (or to taste), 1 Tbs. dried chives, and the juice from 1/2 lemon. This is very good with the corned beef.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3647 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I take the corned beef out and while the cabbage carrots and pot's are cooking in the liquid, I put the brisket in the oven for 30 minutes with this sauce that I combine on the stove until smooth. 1/3 cup of brown sugar,2 tblsp of butter tlbs. of prepared mustard, 1/3 cup of ketchup, and 3 tblsp of apple cider vinegar. I combine these ingredients till smooth, then pour over the brisket while the veggies are cooking. 30 to 40 mins. at 350 will do it. Hope you like it, all of my friends who hate corned beef will only eat mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I love corned beef & cabbage & I must have used close to a hundred recipes, but I think this is the simplest & the best. Use the white (not russet) potatoes. I sometimes wondered why my previous renditions sometimes came out on the salty side--this recipe is well-balanced in flavor. Now I know that a '10/5' potato/carrot combo really works...if you skimp on the veggies, the dish will be salty. Using 10/5 gives it a good seasoning balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
The recipe as written will work very well. I've been doing it that way for many years, except I cook the veggies separately in some of the broth. However, I thought I would try the crockpot method suggested by several reviewers.I also tried the new Reynolds crockpot liners. they work great! No clean up except the lid. I have a new Rival 5 quart slow cooker with removable stoneware crock. I had a 3.5 lb corned beef brisket(too fatty)and followed the Rival instructions which called for 1 cup of water, onions and cabbage only. I added 6 small potatoes and 3 carrots, cut in half. In 8 hours everything was overcooked, including the veggies! I could see the broth boiling around the inside of the crockpot, so I assume it gets too high when set on low. It's best omit all liquid as it is not needed when cooking roasts in the crockpot. Cooking the corned beef in the old fashioned way is the best. Skip the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1085 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2001
This recipe is very basic and with a few changes I loved it. Try covering the corn beef with four cans of beef broth and include the spice packet after cutting the big fat off. Bring to a boil and turn to low to simmer 2-21/2 hrs. Then add potatoes, carrots, onions, garlic, mushrooms and cabbage for the last hour. Make sure the meat is cooked first by poking the meat before adding vegetables and use a large pot on top of the stove! I didn't mean to rewrite the recipe, but this is much more tasty way the prepare the corn beef!!!! Don't forget the french bread says my husband and he is right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
859 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I cook the cabbage at the end. Cut it in wedges and cooked seperately from the meat. I use 1/2 cooking liquid from the meat and 1/2 chicken broth with butter added to the liquid. Cooked until just crisp tender. Gives the cabbage a lovely flavor, it stays green and doesn't get all mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
747 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I cover my corned beef with beer usually a 5 pack and one for the cook! Follow any of the recipes that call for water and substitute the beer WONDERFUL!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
547 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Fantastic! I have always kind of "winged" it with corned beef and cabbage, with varying degrees of success. I read many of the reviews and added a bottle of beer to the water to simmer the meat in. WOW! This is it! From now on, no more winging it! For spices, I used the packet seasonings, some minced garlic. Added unpeeled red potatoes, onion slices, baby carrots and of course cabbage wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
496 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Absolutely delicious. I started out by cooking this on the stove top as the recipe states (for about 45 minutes) but due to a family emergency, I had to leave the house. Before leaving, I put the meat and liquid into my crock pot. By the time I got home, the meat was perfectly cooked (45 minutes on stove, then 7 hours in crock pot for an almost 3 lb. roast). I took the advice of some other reviewers and added 1/2 stick of butter to the liquid as the meat cooked and I also used beef broth instead of water. The next day on the stovetop I cooked the cabbage, carrots and potatoes in the liquid the meat cooked in the night before. When the vegetalbes were done, I added the meat back into the liquid just to warm it. It was SOOOOOO good!! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
496 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
this is my first time making corned beef and cabbage, and my fiance and i thought it was terrfic, the meat was very tender and juicy while the vegetables was absolutley superb & tasty. The corned beef was 3.75 lbs that came along with the spice packet, instead of water i used beef broth, added 6 large cloves of garlic, 1 large white onion cut up into wedges, 2 bay leaves, 12 whole peppercorns, 10 small red potatoes/carrots, 3 tbls of butter to bring out the richness of taste ... all in a crockpot -- it took me 8 hours to cook this dinner and it was worth every minute of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
462 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States