Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe is easy and very good. The review from Tracy 3/6/2008, was perfect! Adding a little sweetness to the corned beef was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I loved this recipe. Simple to follow and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Just finished devouring this recipe! Tasty and filling. I followed tracey's suggestion and glazed the corned beef and cooked it in the oven while the veggies cooked - ahh! Will have to start cooking this more than once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I am tryuing as we speak.....I just wish one perons would do the recipe as is and then rate it...too many!!!!!! subsistutions....oven, separate veggies....etc...how do you even know if it works...I followed it exactly and I will let you know....considering I have never cooked this before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
THIS is a traditional corned beef and cabbage. Not with beer, not with, heaven help us! KETCHUP or brown sugar glaze. Picture yourself in Ireland in the late 19th century. You are not one of the ruling class, but you want something special for the feast day of your country's patron saint. You will not have the sugar or the reprehensible ketchup, but you can, because you've saved for it, afford a brisket (not a particularly fine cut of beef) and you'll have access to potatoes, cabbage and carrots, because they keep well. The chances that you'd waste a good beer in your cooking water, when you could drink it, are slim. BTW: soda bread, sure. Hot cross buns? Not unless it's holy week: the cross is for the Passion, you know. And I seem to recall someone claiming French bread with corned beef. NEVER. If you're Irish, the soda bread works. If you are Jewish, slice it and serve it on good rye bread. Or, if you are Irish and not Jewish, but love Reubens, do that with the leftovers. Thanks for the easy primer for those who are unsure of the traditional way to prepare their St Patrick's Day corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I make my corned beef and cabbage this way BUT I use half water and half beer or all beer instead of all water. I also cook the meat, cabbage, carrots and potatoes all together and when the vegetables are cooked I just remove them and keep them warm on the side until the meat is done. Corned beef and cabbage is a very "bland" basic type of meal. I never feel the need to use onions since everyone I know cooks it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This will be the fouth time using this recipe and it is simple and yummy. The minor changes I do is cut up the potatoes and use small carrots that I don't have to cut or peel. I don't understand why the most helpful review on here does not follow this recipe at ALL! Please post your own recipe and let people review it. I find it NOT helpful to me when reading reviews. If you add Beef broth, brown sugar, mushrooms, onions, even beer. I can understand one or two changes but all that is something different then Corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe is amazing!! It's the corned beef and cabbage I was looking for. Being very Irish myself I'm quite picky and I set out to find a traditional Irish recipe. This was it! I did not veer from the directions at all and the corned came out extremely moist with great flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe! I cooked my 1st Corn Beef & Cabbage meal tonight, and it was juicy, moist and extremely delicious..thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States