Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
THIS is a traditional corned beef and cabbage. Not with beer, not with, heaven help us! KETCHUP or brown sugar glaze. Picture yourself in Ireland in the late 19th century. You are not one of the ruling class, but you want something special for the feast day of your country's patron saint. You will not have the sugar or the reprehensible ketchup, but you can, because you've saved for it, afford a brisket (not a particularly fine cut of beef) and you'll have access to potatoes, cabbage and carrots, because they keep well. The chances that you'd waste a good beer in your cooking water, when you could drink it, are slim. BTW: soda bread, sure. Hot cross buns? Not unless it's holy week: the cross is for the Passion, you know. And I seem to recall someone claiming French bread with corned beef. NEVER. If you're Irish, the soda bread works. If you are Jewish, slice it and serve it on good rye bread. Or, if you are Irish and not Jewish, but love Reubens, do that with the leftovers. Thanks for the easy primer for those who are unsure of the traditional way to prepare their St Patrick's Day corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I make my corned beef and cabbage this way BUT I use half water and half beer or all beer instead of all water. I also cook the meat, cabbage, carrots and potatoes all together and when the vegetables are cooked I just remove them and keep them warm on the side until the meat is done. Corned beef and cabbage is a very "bland" basic type of meal. I never feel the need to use onions since everyone I know cooks it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This will be the fouth time using this recipe and it is simple and yummy. The minor changes I do is cut up the potatoes and use small carrots that I don't have to cut or peel. I don't understand why the most helpful review on here does not follow this recipe at ALL! Please post your own recipe and let people review it. I find it NOT helpful to me when reading reviews. If you add Beef broth, brown sugar, mushrooms, onions, even beer. I can understand one or two changes but all that is something different then Corned beef and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe is amazing!! It's the corned beef and cabbage I was looking for. Being very Irish myself I'm quite picky and I set out to find a traditional Irish recipe. This was it! I did not veer from the directions at all and the corned came out extremely moist with great flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe! I cooked my 1st Corn Beef & Cabbage meal tonight, and it was juicy, moist and extremely delicious..thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was a super easy and delicious recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I tried it TONIGHT 3-14-13 and it turned out AWESOME! Thank YOU so MUCH! I am serious it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I plan on trying this recipe today, one thing I change though is how I cook the corned beef. I place my corned beef in a oven bag. I found it prevents the meat from shrinking and is so tender. After letting it cool, I will add the spices from the bag into the potatoes and carrots. This also aides in slicing the corned beef so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Bland. I was skeptical and should have trusted my gut. I've had all kinds of corned beef and this is below average. I would go with beer instead of water, additional mustard seed, and a bay leaf next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I lovethe comment 'Jeepers, it needs onion etc. ONIONS RULE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States