Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The recipe was easy and it was really good! We put the carrots and potatoes in with an hour to go. With 30 minutes to go we put a couple cut up onions and once it was done we took out the meat and vegetables and added the cabbage in the juice for 15 minutes. It was AWESOME. It was all done in a cast iron dutch oven. Also instead of all water, we used about 6 ounces of dark beer called "Black Cauldron" from a Brewery in Utah, and a 12 ounce can of Bud Light I had left in the fridge. The pot was then topped with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
It was just OK, certainly not what I would consider delicious. The meat came out fine, but the cabbage, carrots and potatoes was bland bland bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Turned out perfect for our St. Patty's day dinner. I needed to add some water when adding the vegs, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe is easy and very good. The review from Tracy 3/6/2008, was perfect! Adding a little sweetness to the corned beef was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I loved this recipe. Simple to follow and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Just finished devouring this recipe! Tasty and filling. I followed tracey's suggestion and glazed the corned beef and cooked it in the oven while the veggies cooked - ahh! Will have to start cooking this more than once a year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I am tryuing as we speak.....I just wish one perons would do the recipe as is and then rate it...too many!!!!!! subsistutions....oven, separate veggies....etc...how do you even know if it works...I followed it exactly and I will let you know....considering I have never cooked this before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
THIS is a traditional corned beef and cabbage. Not with beer, not with, heaven help us! KETCHUP or brown sugar glaze. Picture yourself in Ireland in the late 19th century. You are not one of the ruling class, but you want something special for the feast day of your country's patron saint. You will not have the sugar or the reprehensible ketchup, but you can, because you've saved for it, afford a brisket (not a particularly fine cut of beef) and you'll have access to potatoes, cabbage and carrots, because they keep well. The chances that you'd waste a good beer in your cooking water, when you could drink it, are slim. BTW: soda bread, sure. Hot cross buns? Not unless it's holy week: the cross is for the Passion, you know. And I seem to recall someone claiming French bread with corned beef. NEVER. If you're Irish, the soda bread works. If you are Jewish, slice it and serve it on good rye bread. Or, if you are Irish and not Jewish, but love Reubens, do that with the leftovers. Thanks for the easy primer for those who are unsure of the traditional way to prepare their St Patrick's Day corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I make my corned beef and cabbage this way BUT I use half water and half beer or all beer instead of all water. I also cook the meat, cabbage, carrots and potatoes all together and when the vegetables are cooked I just remove them and keep them warm on the side until the meat is done. Corned beef and cabbage is a very "bland" basic type of meal. I never feel the need to use onions since everyone I know cooks it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States