Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
We stuffed ourselves five star full. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this for St Pats day this year, followed the recipe as-is, except I used 2 bottles of Guiness as well as water. I was very happy with the results, I will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
What makes this better is adding a stout beer to the water. I add 3 bottles of beer (I used Laughing Lab) for 2 briskets in a large pot two thirds filled with water on stove. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made it with a slight variation. I added a bottle of Ale Irish beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I have never made OR ate corned beef and cabbage EVER. As one reviewer suggested, I added 1 can of beer; then water to cover; I added 6 garlic cloves and 1 bay leaf. I also took their advice and added the potatoes and carrots 1 hour before the brisket was ready ;then cabbage and onions 40 min. Til it was done. My friends who love corned beef and cabbage said it was the best they have ever had. Will be making this again next st.patricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlishaL.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I've been cooking for over 50 years now, and this is the BEST corned beef I've ever made! Followed suggestions from other reviewers about adding onion, and especially adding the glaze for the last 40 minutes in the oven. I'll never make it any other way. Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty closely and agree that the addition of extra vegetables reduces saltiness, and makes for delicious veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Perfect! Easy and deliscious. The only way to make corned beef and cabbage! Made exactly as recipe states, added cabbage one hour before meat done. Everything perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I was very disappointed in this recipe. There is NO WAY this can be cooked in and hour per pound!!! My beef was tough. Not good. Adding carrots, cabbage, and potatoes isn't anything special. I used the reviews to tailor it a bit and added a bottle of spring wheat ale, VERY good, and instead of adding more water to keep it covered I used beef stock. Next year, I will do exactly the same only start at 10am with a CROCKPOT to quarantee tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
a great St. Patrick's day dinner excellent... I honestly don't know if I liked the corn beef or the cabbage more... cooked cabbage flavored with corn beef broth is just excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States