Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Delicious and oh-so tender when it is done. I cooked mine in a crockpot. As other people suggested I added some of my own seasoning. In addition to the included seasoning packet: I added mustard seed, garlic, and bay leaves. I used a can of beer and then added water to cover. I cooked it on high until it was (basically) simmering and then turned the crockpot to low. I added the potatoes, some turnips, and carrots and hour before I wanted to eat. At this time I also added my onions because I wanted to add the flavor; I wasn't worried about eating soggy onions. With only 20 minutes left I took out the corned beef to rest and added the quartered cabbage. In the end I either needed to cut my veggies smaller or give more time for cooking. My husband and I felt the vegetables were a bit undercooked. So either add time for bigger chunks or dice the veggies for the smaller time. I cooked it on low for 6 hours, on high for 1 hour. It was super flavorful and so good. We used a horseradish sauce found on here for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this for my family yesterday. It was a hit. I thought it was a little salty, but nobody else did. I did use beef broth. Next time I think I will just use water as recommended by the original writer of the recipe. I also added beer. Not sure if it enhanced the flavor or not. Maybe a dark beer would have been better. Really, it was easy and delicious. What more could you ask??? It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I have made this many times, and it's always been good. This time I added 3 cloves of crushed garlic, and a pint of Guinness. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my2shelties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lemont, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
delish! use your cast iron dutch pot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I tried to be true to this recipe in order to give it an honest review, though I couldn't resist adding celery chunks and finely chopped onions. I used only water just so I would know how it is that way. I ended up cooking it low and very slow - I'd say it was on the stove nearly 5 hours. It didn't hurt it any! It was fabulous! Tender and so savory. I have to agree with some who said it is a little bland. That, along with COOKER476's recommendation of sour cream, chives and horseradish is how my fantastic gravy was born! Try it and you'll LOVE it: ladle out a few cups of the meat liquid at the time you add cabbage. Dissolve 1 tsp Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base into that hot liquid. Use this as your liquid for making a butter roux (look it up if you don't know what a roux is). Add a good sprinkle of fresh or dried chopped chives during cooking. When it's a good consistency, remove from heat and add a dollop of sour cream and horseradish by the half teaspoon until you are happy with the taste. I DARE you to try it. This was my first go at corned beef and cabbage and my success is a testament to the reliability of this recipe. My husband even had to admit it was good after promising me he wasn't going to like such a yucky-sounding dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
"What's more Irish than a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage?" The answer is - lots of things! Corned beef and cabbage is not a traditional Irish dish. Born and bred in Ireland, I was in my 50's when I spent some time in the US and was told that everyone eats corned beef and cabbage on St. Paddy's Day. I had never heard of it and I still have never tasted it. When I came home from that trip I did ask around, in case I somehow had missed this vital part of Irish tradition, but, no, I have yet to come across any Irish national who has actually eaten corned beef and cabbage. Further research has taught me that, in fact, Irish immigrants to America began eating corned beef, which they bought from Jewish butchers, because of their new-found affluence. At home, in Ireland, it was only the very wealthy who could afford to eat beef. So, eating corned beef on Paddy's Day is really an American-Irish-Jewish tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The recipe was easy and it was really good! We put the carrots and potatoes in with an hour to go. With 30 minutes to go we put a couple cut up onions and once it was done we took out the meat and vegetables and added the cabbage in the juice for 15 minutes. It was AWESOME. It was all done in a cast iron dutch oven. Also instead of all water, we used about 6 ounces of dark beer called "Black Cauldron" from a Brewery in Utah, and a 12 ounce can of Bud Light I had left in the fridge. The pot was then topped with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
It was just OK, certainly not what I would consider delicious. The meat came out fine, but the cabbage, carrots and potatoes was bland bland bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Turned out perfect for our St. Patty's day dinner. I needed to add some water when adding the vegs, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This recipe is easy and very good. The review from Tracy 3/6/2008, was perfect! Adding a little sweetness to the corned beef was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 676) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States