Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I had always been wanting to try something like this. I made this for St. Patty's Day. I took the advice of others & added beer (mickey's). And I removed the corned beef when I added the cabbage for the last 15mins. (But, that was more my hubby was hungry & wanted to eat in 15mins not 15 mins for the cabbage & 15 for the beef to rest!) This was soooo YUMMY! I couldn't believe I made this! The entire family ate this without complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This worked perfectly. The beef came out so tender you could cut it with a fork! will use this recipe again and highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TedeeBear79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I will make this recipe every St. Patrick's Day and will change nothing in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ledesma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome! I have never made corned beef and cabbage so I was pretty nervous! But it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I fixed this 4 times in March. I do believe that it is the best Corned beef and Cabbage recipe. I have a very good Irish friend of 75 yrs old and she told me it was the best she ever had...and preceded to tell it to the owners of a 100 yr old Irish deli and store. I cooked it in only guiness beer and beef broth. Added peppercorns, bay leaf and onions. When the meat was tender I removed it from the pot and glazed it with a tart Orange marmalade, brown mustard and brown sugar glaze and wrapped in foil and put it in the oven. Then I strained the broth, then added the potatoes and carrots and a stick of butter. I cooked the cabbage (I used savoy cabbage) in a separate skillet, braising it in the broth with butter until cooked but still crispy. Made a Horseradish sauce of 3/4 sour cream, 1/4 horseradish, 1 tlbs dried chives and the juice of 1/2 lemon. This recipe will impress anyone you serve it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Excellent. Also added a couple of bay leaves and some whole peppercorns. Tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This I my first time with corned beef. Everything had a good flavor, but I found the meat to have a bit of a rubbery texture. I assume that's from being boiled???? Boy friend loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Followed the directions exactly, except for adding one can of beer with the water. Everything turned out fantastic! The meat was melt in your mouth perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
WOW!! This is the best corned beef I've ever tasted! Very tender & loved the vegetables with it. In fact, I only had/used half a cabbage because that's all I had, and I never cared for cabbage anyway. After tasting it, I really wished I'd used extra--I could eat cabbage fixed this way every day. Per reviews, I added a bottle of beer, several cloves of garlic & pepper corns after trimming most of the fat from the meat. Thanks so much for sharing--this is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very good! Make sure the pot you are using is HUGE. I tried with a regular sized one and could not get the veggies in. I ended up taking out the beef and cooking the veggies in the left over water while the beef rested. Worked perfectly. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States