Corned Beef and Cabbage I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I'm from Cavan, County Cavan. I can tell you that corned beef and cabbage is not an Irish dish. I never heard of it until I came to the US, a bit like Irish Spring soap, never heard of it until I came here. What is Irish, is boiled ham and cabbage, with a bottle of stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Lovely people, First, this recipe is wonderful written 'as is' - but I'd like to speak to those of you who are aggravated about people changing up the recipe and then rating it, since 'changing it up' really doesn't give you an accurate review of the recipe as written. I have this to offer: Some of us use what's on-hand rather than going out and buying ingredients specific to the recipe. I find this very helpful on occasion because 1) you might not have to go shopping if you use the substitutes or 2) you can learn a different way to use a spice or other ingredient - which only makes you a better cook. Also - I've found a few recipe reviewers who have taken allergies into consideration. Sometimes those 'change ups' can be invaluable and save time when you don't have to scour the Internet trying to find a way to omit a certain ingredient but still get the full effect of the dish. I, too, am sometimes frustrated with the review system - but if you try to understand where the reviewer is coming from, sometimes you can make a 'just okay' dish into something completely out of your original realm of thinking. Tolerance, folks ... just by the mere fact that people take the time to review dishes, even if they do change them a bit, shows they care enough to share their information with you. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So easy to make & tastes unbelievable !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I used this recipe to make my first corned beef & cabbage. Only change I made was adding beer to the cooking liquid. I was very pleased with the recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is a really simple and balanced recipe. I have served this three times already this year and I have always received very happy responses from my potential victims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Very bland and the cabbage seemed underdone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I made it with the beer and I don't know if that made any difference, but it was really good and my boyfriend raved and had seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Corned beef was excellent. Potatoes, carrots & cabbage were just OK, but I think that's just a personal opinion. Would make again using just the meat & use for reuben sandwiches! So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States