Cornbread Stuffing With Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was really good! I made it for 2 different holiday dinners 5 days apart, and made some revisions the second time around. First time I used a sweet-type boxed cornbread mix, which I didn't like in this dish at all. Next time I just put about 1 cup (whatever I had left over from the first time) of cornbread in and about 9 cups of sourdough bread, crumbled. I left the crumbs a bit bigger the second time around and found the stuffing was much fluffier. I think cubed bread would be the best, rather than crumbs. I will definitely make this next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Great flavor. I'd never had this type of stuffing so I wasn't sure what to expect. It was a big hit with my entire family. I used store bought corn muffin tops to make the stuffing with to save time and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Easy and it was the favorite a dinner!! I'm already making it again and it's only Sunday! My kids want more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
as per stated in several reviews, I used all cornbread (from Jiffy mix) and wasn't impressed. Reminds me of scrapple. A bit too sweet for me. Was ok, probably won't make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very popular and tasty traditional stuffing. I took the advice of other cooks and used about half of the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I just made this for thanksgiving dinner and my VERY picky father-in-law loved it! He complimented me twice which must be a record. I was low in chicken broth so I used some dry white wine to supplement and it was really nice. only change I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this stuffing for a Thanksgiving potluck at work. My coworkers all gave it rave reviews. We are still fighting over the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I've tried a different recipe every year, but this one is worth repeating. Definitely add you own favorite ingredients. I only have one oven, so I cooked some ahead in the crockpot and the rest in the oven after I removed the turkey. I liked the crockpot batch better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I was really disappointed by this recipe, my husband told me 5 cups of bread crumbs were way to much, I should have listened to him because this was to bready, I even added more broth, all I tasted was the bread crumbs. It was alteast edible though so I gave it 3 starts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dade City, Florida, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This stuffing came out so well! My only suggestion would be to use a savory or spicy sausage. I used a brown sugar turkey sausage, and the sweetness overpowered the dish. In the future, I would make this with a nice spicy sausage to complement the sweetness of the cornbread. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States