Cornbread Stuffing with al fresco® Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Totally loved this, one thing I did was add a tablespoon of heavy cream and extra salt an pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was delicious! I tweaked a little, not out of choice, but because of what we had on hand, but I can't imagine it coming out bad. I used gala instead of granny smith apples and a red bell pepper instead of celery. (I think the celery would have given it a better crunch... maybe I'll try both next time.) I also used raisins instead of cranberries and chicken stuffing mix instead of fresh cornbread. I hate reading reviews that say they did 100 things different but it was good, but this didn't have any reviews yet, and I wanted to make sure people know it's worth trying. My 3 year old and 1 year old both gobbled it up and hubby had seconds. If you want it a little dryer try leaving it uncovered in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I liked the blend of flavors in this stuffing. The apple and cranberries added a nice sweetness. I increased the amount of broth to about 2 cups, because I like stuffing to be a little moister. One box of Jiffy cornbread mix made the perfect amount of cornbread. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I probably wouldn't have tried it had I not had a coupon for the sausage. It was bursting with flavor and I like a recipe with flavor. I probably wouldn't make it again only because no one else would help me eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I am allergic to Apples so I did leave them out but I did follow the rest of the recipe and liked what it tastes like but I just don't think it was done correctly. The cornbread is very dry and it is a little bland in flavor. I do like the dried cranberries in this recipe with the sausage as it is a nice compliment. I could make this again but feel that my stuffing recipe is better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I would have given it a higher rating but it was a bit dry. Needs more broth, excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I liked this a lot - it made a good stand alone dish and would make a good side dish as well. I thought the apple was a little overdone, considering it was in the sausage and two two chopped ones added to the stuffing. Next time I'll go with 1 granny smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe for stuffing is very similar to my usual Thanksgiving dressing I have made for about 20 yrs. I usually use bulk breakfast sausage tho. I made the recipe according to directions except I found it needed alot more broth(at least 2 cups) I also found it a little too sweet since I used Jiffy cornbread mix instead of making a homemade non sweet cornbread for this recipe..and also bcuz of the sweet sausage. I figured out I like the Al Fresco sausages better, and they are not so chewy, if you remove the skin. It makes them much better in my opinion. Good recipe tho and it has all the flavors I love in a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I love stuffing with sausage, cranberries, and apples so was excited to try this. The sweet apple chicken sausage is a nice addition, but it does make it on the sweeter side--I liked it! I did dice the sausage instead of slicing it because it seemed like having larger slices would have been awkward and cheated by using bagged cornbread stuffing. The only complaint I have is that it would be very dry if only 1/2 cup of stock is used in the original presentation with normal cornbread. Add more to suit your taste and prevent overdryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I thought this was really good. The recipe should be revised to brown the sausage separate from the onions and celery. The only real downfall was how terribly dry it is, and I even doubled the chicken stock. You need to use enough stock to really get all the cornbread chunks wet. Other than that, flavors were really good. I used Jiffy mix for the cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States