Cornbread Stuffing with al fresco® Sweet Apple Chicken Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was delicious! I tweaked a little, not out of choice, but because of what we had on hand, but I can't imagine it coming out bad. I used gala instead of granny smith apples and a red bell pepper instead of celery. (I think the celery would have given it a better crunch... maybe I'll try both next time.) I also used raisins instead of cranberries and chicken stuffing mix instead of fresh cornbread. I hate reading reviews that say they did 100 things different but it was good, but this didn't have any reviews yet, and I wanted to make sure people know it's worth trying. My 3 year old and 1 year old both gobbled it up and hubby had seconds. If you want it a little dryer try leaving it uncovered in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I liked the blend of flavors in this stuffing. The apple and cranberries added a nice sweetness. I increased the amount of broth to about 2 cups, because I like stuffing to be a little moister. One box of Jiffy cornbread mix made the perfect amount of cornbread. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This recipe is okay, but I have to admit that I'm not a fan of the sausage. I used pre-packaged cornbread stuffing cubes to save time, as well as subbing raisins for the cranberries. There are a few changes that could make it slightly better, however. With the onions, celery and apples in the pot, it was impossible to brown the sausage. I'd suggest that you brown it first -- remove it from the pan, saute the veggies and apples and add them back in. The flavor of the stuffing itself was very good, but I picked out the sausage. Not my favorite, I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I liked this a lot - it made a good stand alone dish and would make a good side dish as well. I thought the apple was a little overdone, considering it was in the sausage and two two chopped ones added to the stuffing. Next time I'll go with 1 granny smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe for stuffing is very similar to my usual Thanksgiving dressing I have made for about 20 yrs. I usually use bulk breakfast sausage tho. I made the recipe according to directions except I found it needed alot more broth(at least 2 cups) I also found it a little too sweet since I used Jiffy cornbread mix instead of making a homemade non sweet cornbread for this recipe..and also bcuz of the sweet sausage. I figured out I like the Al Fresco sausages better, and they are not so chewy, if you remove the skin. It makes them much better in my opinion. Good recipe tho and it has all the flavors I love in a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
A good starting point but there are some things I would change as it is a little bland and a little dry. The type of cornbread you use can greatly effect the flavor. I used store bought corn muffin tops that made an already somewhat sweet dish get sweeter. The next time I make this dish (I like the sausages) - I while dice the sausages, add some red peppers & spice as well as use a more traditional cornbread or cornbread stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I am not a fan of fruit and meat together in a recipe. However, I was surprised... I thought I wouldn't like this at all, but it really wasn't that bad. I would go easier on the seasoning next time and possibly add less fruit, more meat, but that is my preference. My son wasn't too keen on it, but he did at least give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
The sausage should have been browned first & removed from the pan & then the onions & celery sauteed & then the apples thrown in with the remainder of ingredients. My apples just turned to mush. I think it needs at least twice the amount of liquid. It was dry & I added more liquid beforehand. I also just poured all the pan stuff over the cornbread in the casserole dish, to keep it from becoming just mush. I then lightly tossed it to mix. This way it still had some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I love stuffing with sausage, cranberries, and apples so was excited to try this. The sweet apple chicken sausage is a nice addition, but it does make it on the sweeter side--I liked it! I did dice the sausage instead of slicing it because it seemed like having larger slices would have been awkward and cheated by using bagged cornbread stuffing. The only complaint I have is that it would be very dry if only 1/2 cup of stock is used in the original presentation with normal cornbread. Add more to suit your taste and prevent overdryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I would have given it a higher rating but it was a bit dry. Needs more broth, excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States