Cornbread Stuffing Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
I just made this for Thanksgiving. I increased the recipe by 50%. Added green onions instead of regular onions and a red pepper instead of a green pepper. It made for a very colorful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I made this for Thanksgiving....It was great!!! It must of been the best dish served because it was the only one with NO LEFTOVERS. Even my three year old son, mr picky, ate it. My husband has it on the "request" list for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
As a base, this is the best!! It is very easy to "tweak" for your own personal tastes. I've found that adding several sliced mushrooms, and adding some cider vinegar to the mix make it even better. This has been requested as a regular for future holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
This recipe was not good at all. Also had to use too many pots and baking dishes. I will use Stove Top until I find a worthy cornbread dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This recipe IS a lot of work but it's worth it. I served it for Thanksgiving and also had NO leftovers and received wonderful compliments. I was asked to make it for Christmas dinner too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This recipe was excellent. It is very moist (which I love). The only thing that I did differently than the recipe directed was to add sage. I love sage in my dressing. Also because I forgot to buy the garlic cloves, I only used one that I already had at home. So my recipe was minus 3 garlic cloves. Next time I plan to not forget the rest of the garlic (another one of my favorite ingredients). Again this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This was very easy and very good! It has a nice twist of sweet and spicy. Even my fiance and his friend who don't like stuffing really enjoyed it. We ran out of onions so I had to leave them out and i added a bit more paprika. i'm not sure if making the cornbread ahead of time, letting it and then adding the broth might make it keep a bit more structure, but I'm thinking of trying that the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I remade this recipe & did some revising. In the end, my husband loved it while my teens liked it. Here is what I done. (1) I used only 1 1/2 cans of chicken broth (Use less if you want firmer or bake at 350 for 20 minutes if it's to soupy.) (2) I omitted the yogurt & added 1/2 cup sour cream. Big difference in taste. (3) I added another can of cream corn to mix. (4) I used garlic powder instead of cloves. (5) I used margarine instead of butter. (6) I added 4 tbsp of sugar for a sweeter taste. (7) I scooped everything into a micro safe dish and nuked on high for 5 minutes for extra firmness. Much quicker then oven. (Make sure to use a big enough bowl or it will spew over.) With this revised...I can give this recipe 5 stars! Takes about 30 minutes to prepare alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
Was very easy to put together and the taste was wonderful. Had a lot of compliments on how tasty and moist it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States