Cornbread Stuffing Southern Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I had two problems: one, I thought the resulting mixture was too sweet, and, two, I must have made a mistake with the cayenne pepper, because it was also overwhelmingly spicy. I managed to remedy both problems more or less by dumping in some generic stuffing mix which I happened to have on hand, adding more broth to compensate, and finally throwing in some turkey sausage, finely chopped. The result was an interesting flavor although the texture a bit mushy due to the extra broth. I did bake it twice, which I'd do even if I hadn't improvised. If I make it again, I'll probably try cornbread mix instead of the muffin base. I skipped the green pepper (no one likes it in our family) but next time would probably use red pepper. I also left out the creamed corn only b/c it sounded so unappealing....maybe that was a mistake. But maybe it was worth it, because my daughter loved it, husband praised it and our guests seemed to like it. Once modified, the cayenne gave it a nice kick, so I'd say that's a keeper. (Honestly I think I put in 1/2 tsp by accident, it was that spicy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Been making this recipe for 2 years now and it's practically a family dish now! No changes made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This is excellent and is now the only recipe I use for stuffing. Very easy to make and my family loves it. It's a must at thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I did not care for this recipe as written. Despite how many vegetables I cut up for this, in reality, all I could really taste was the cornbread. There was absolutely too much chicken broth called for, among other things. I could just as easily made the corn bread and mashed it up with a couple of sauteed vegetables. I would highly recommend reading, and going with, one of the altered versions of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving....my crew gobbled it up!! Delish...will use this next year also. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CurlyCaramelCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I omitted the bell pepper and halved the chicken stock and it came out great! I usually don't care for stuffing but really enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Just a note to say it fabulous in the crockpot as well. A big hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Best thing we ate on Thanksgiving! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was the first time I've ever made cornbread stiffing and it was the best I've had since Granny made it!!!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Hmmmm way too many spices, ended up being HEAVILY spiced. I used half the amount called for and was still a bit much, would cut spices to quarter, with exception of salt, and use 1-1/2 cups broth instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States