Cornbread Sausage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
We've made this a twice so far and it's been a big hit with everyone. We've made two pans each time, one for those who like things mild (with canned green chiles and maple flavored sausage and mozarella cheese), and another for those who like it spicy (with jalepenos and spicy italian sausage). The only thing we've really changed in the recipe is that we saute the onions with the sausage so they aren't too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
My girlfriend and I tried this recipe for a Saturday brunch. Although there are numerous ways to change it to suite the preferences of the individual, the base recipe is quite good. We paired it with some cheese and onion scrambled eggs and a few Bloody Marys. It was a fantastic brunch for two. We will definitely make this recipe again, but possibly with a few personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRraff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Clare, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I doubled the recipe and prepared in a 9"x13" for a brunch for 15 people. Most people thought it was great, one or two was so-so about it cause it was too hot for their taste. Served with sour cream, chives and salsa to top it off. Would probably make it again for gatherings and would make a mild and a spicy version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Skipped the peppers and onions and it was good. Gets a four b/c of instructions. Use a 9x13 pan, not a "medium baking dish". And 5oz water? Just say 2/3 c! For the reviewer that didn't like the sweetness, try 1/2 cornmeal and 1/2 packaged corn bread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Awesome recipe, I have made this 4 times and everytime I make it I get the best compliments on it. It is so tasty, instead of water though I use milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Excellent! I go easy on the jalapeno pepers and use 1 pkg of Jiffy Mix. Made this one a dozen times and still want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This was a great winter breakfast on Sunday morning. I didn't have any chilis so I mixed the sausage with about a 1/4 cup of salsa and it added a great flavor to it. I had to cook this longer than the recipe called for- about 55 minutes until it was cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I got this recipe a couple years ago and have made it about a hundred times... just figured I would give a review with kudos! I have altered it a little to our tastes, we like it spicy! First, I hate jiffy (too sweet) so I can find a Texas Style brand bag at my WalMart but any of the other 6oz bags work. I use 3 or 4 because I make it in a 13"x9" pan (my hubby likes LOTS of leftovers for work). So i had to tweak the cornbread/water/cream style corn ratio. You don't want to much tho, or the cornbread is too overpowering. I use spicy sausage, lots of pepper jack cheese, mexican style cornbread in a bag, and as many jalapenos to completely cover. I do have to bake longer than specified, depending on what part of the country I'm in its anywhere from 10-25 min longer! Check it every 8 min after the time it should be done. If people are scared of spicy, leave off the jalapenos on half. I serve with sour cream, a lil extra sprinkled cheese, and a cold beer to extinguish the burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boyd, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Usually the first time I make a recipe I follow the recipe exactly. However I didn't with this one. Instead of layering ingredients, I just mixed them altogether (which is how I like casseroles). I also used 2 boxes of Jiffy corn muffin mix, which made it too sweet. Next time I will use a roll of spicy sausage and a not-quite-so-sweet cornbread mix. However it was still pretty yummy. Heated up well the next day in the microwave too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Just so-so. A little sticky. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States