Cornbread Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Sounds strange but soo yummy!! I first discovered this in a woman's magazine & then came here so I don't have 1,003 pages ripped from a magazine in various folders. When I first read the recipe, I thought how bizarre but the reviews were good & I like all the ingredients so I gave it a whirl. I've made this numerous times & it's always a big hit. It's just a wonderful blend of so many fabulous flavors at once. To cut down on the mess, I bake the bacon for 20 min. at 350. Bake the cornbread, leave it cool. I Chop everything the night before & throw together the morning of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I liked this recipe-should have taken a photo of the layered bowl that I had it in before digging in though. I liked the crunchiness of the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This recipe sounded so different that I just had to try it and can honestly say that I am glad that I did! Very unique and tastey salad. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I get so many compliments on this salad. It is wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
The onion and peppers over powered the salad. next time I will cut them down more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was edible, but why not just eat the cornbread without the extra calories? Such a weird mixture of flavors. It must be a regional thing. My husband and I are from the Mid-Atlantic and neither one of us liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was ok. I brought it to a family reunion and people liked it, but I personally didn't care for it all that much. Just a little too dry and bland. Maybe as one reviewer did I should have used less cornbread. It's different though and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
The ruler I use for the success of a recipe is "how many copies of this recipe do people want?" This recipe was a total success. At least four people at the dinner asked for it. I used green/orange bell pepper (for added color)and made the corn bread in a cast iron skillet in the oven (added crispness). AWSOME. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Not a bad variation if you really like onions. It is simpler than the Cornbread Salad 1 recipe (which I still prefer) for more colorful presentation consider layters of chopped lettuce, celery, black olive, chopped cooked egg whites. Roasted peppers (yellow or orange make a nice addition) as do a few roasted chipotle or jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
When I first read this recipe I thought it sounded a little strange but we love corn bread and this salad was so good. My family just loved it. You just have to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States