Cornbread Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The best Salad ever!!!!! I made it this summer and everyone enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
It never fails that when I bring something a teeny bit exotic to a BBQ/potluck it is rarely well-received. However, whenever I make recipes that I personally do not care for, people gobble it up and continually ask for the recipe. Go figure! Well, I love cornbread and this is not a traditional recipe, so although I was trepidatious, I made it for our friend's party anyway. First off, I made Texas Caviar the night before and could not find any ripe avocados at the store. So my honey told me to use guacamole. It was too creamy and we didn't care for it. I used this as one of the fillers in my cornbread recipe. Yep... I was scared...lol! I used this recipe as a general guide and now I realize that the possibilities are endless. I added in chopped red pepper, lots of halved cherry and grape tomatoes, I grill 2 ears of corn on the cob and cut the corn off the cob. I also roasted about 4-5 jalapeños and mixed it in with my dressing. I layered as much as I could in a trifle dish. Finished it off with the dressing. Over the dressing I put a layer of green onions with 3 tiny tomatoes in the middle and rounded the edges with the halves. It looked beautiful. About 4 hours later it was on a table being devoured. Everyone made comments about the presentation and the flavor in the dish itself. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
A hit for sure. I used our leftover cornbread from the nights before, always glad to not waste food! I make my own ranch mix and added boiled eggs. That's the only things I did different. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Just finished making this salad. I have been making it for years and it is a holiday favorite. Anyone who doesn't love isn't making it right. I only use 1 can of corn and add about a cup of bottled ranch dressing as well as the sour cream and mayonnaise. Seal it good with the mayo mixture along the edges and make it the day before to enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Took this as a side for Thanksgiving today. Boy! Was this ever a hit amongst some picky adult eaters! I used spicy ranch dressing out of a bottle because that's what I had on hand. Except for the dressing and the addition of a cucumber, I followed the recipe exactly. This is definitely one for the recipe box and will stay in rotation for many years to come. Can't wait to have it again at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I tried this recipe for our monthly potluck at work. I always try to bring something a little different to keep things interesting. I like all of these ingredients separately, but wasn't sure how they would all work together. I tasted it along with everyone else and was happy with the results. It's a little heavy with the cornbread, bacon, and cheese all together, but such great flavors. I got several emails from co-workers asking for the recipe and there wasn't a bite left in the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
My husband and I LOOOOVED this! I only used 1 cup of mayo because I don't like a lot of mayo taste. Consistency was still fine even after omitting the 1/2 cup of mayo. I added more bacon and cheddar cheese. Added some diced cucumber. I used the jiffy cornbread mixes (2 boxes) and left out the green peppers (we're not a fan of peppers). FAN-TAST-IC!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Have been making this for year! Always a big hit with our family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is a great recipe. I make it all the time and it's always a hit. But, I strongly recommend mixing it all together instead of layering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I have been making this for several years, it is a frequent request! Very good salad!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States