Cornbread Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I have a similar recipe that involves tossing a 4 oz. can of diced chilies into the cornbread when baking. If the dressing is too much for you, simply cut it to 1 cup each mayo and sour cream - I will actually try it like this recipe next time as I always have a hard time spreading only 2 cups evenly. I took this salad to a church picnic and it was gone, with several requests for the recipe. I thought it sounded weird, but I love this. Beautiful presentation in a glass dish. I like to make a half batch for myself. The 9X13 dish will be FULL with the full recipe, and a half batch easily fills a 3 qt. dish! Saves well in the fridge for several days, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I cant believe people are omitting items from this fantastic recipe. The only thing I do differently is: I dont layer it, I mix everything together. The salad is the best thing you'll ever put in your mouth. It is too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I have made this twice and both times I have had great reviews. It looks impressive in a trifle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Typically I don't like cornbread or pinto beans but I tried this at a pot luck and loved it. I was so happy that I found the recipe here because I couldn't find the person who made it for the party. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
It's hard for me to rate this recipe. I did like the blend of flavors - the dressing, bacon, tomato, cheese, scallion mixture was very good. What I didn't like was the texture of the cornbread. It just didn't seem right with all the other ingredients. And I can't just omit it, since it is the main ingredient of the salad. Other people at my party said it was 'pretty good' yet only about 1/4 of it was eaten, and that was mostly by me. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
As far as 'salads' go, this is the best I've ever had! My best friend made it for her daughters birthday over the weekend and it disappeared! I'll be making this for my own family very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Ellis Timmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
mmmm, had this at a bowling luncheon potluck and it is terrific. who would have thought cornbread + salad. this is wonderful texture and flavor. don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
A very tasty and filling salad! I used a mix of white beans and kidney beans since that was what I had on hand and they substitued just fine. My only complaint was there was a lot of dressing and I'm not one for tons of dressing on salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Delicious! This recipe is a keeper! My husband and I ate it two nights in a row. I was worried that the cornbread might get soggy, but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this for Bosses Day at work and everyone wanted the recipe. I left out the green peppers because many of the older women say that raw peppers give the heartburn. It was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States